Apples, Apple Tarte Tatin (aka how I procrastinated)

Hi there:)

I’m celebrating exams being over! I have to admit while writing the final essay in my final exam I was already contemplating all the different things I could do and of course all the stuff I can bake (I know, yikes, I might’ve put baking as a treatment in clinical psych). Anyways… this post is kinda what I did to procrastinate before my last exams and they involve APPLES! ๐Ÿ™‚I love apples! Because they’re that awesome dependable fruit you know will always be in the supermarket. And living in NZ is a bigger plus (we have the best apples, oh yeah). Apples are a nice pick-me-up fruit if you don’t want to be caffeinated. Apples are a nice thing to eat if you also want to disturb any quiet. Of course I’m not satisfied with just apples…You can line them up and randomly take pictures of them, imagining you have an awesome camera. But really, you can just make apple tarte tatin!

now look at the apples on that one. mmm… I love the apple tarte tatin because it’s not as fussy as an apple pie (I mean you flip it from a pan and hope they turn out alright, definitely not fussy). Apparently, the Tatin sisters who came up with the apple tarte tatin came up with the thing from a failed apple pie and one of them wanted to redeem it. And redeem they did ๐Ÿ™‚ย so I tried it and it turned out great (I lied, I tried it and it failed then I tried it again and here it is). And then if you’re not satisfied, chuck some vanilla ice cream on topand melt literally mmmmmm…

I’d say that was a good use of time (I guess not so much when there’s an exam to cram for but whatever stressed=desserts, right?)

Apple Tarte Tatin adapted from Jamie Oliver

plain flour, for dusting
500g puff pastry
5 small eating apples
100g caster sugar
100ml Calvados or apple juice
1 vanilla pod, halved lengthways, seeds scraped out or 2 tsp. vanilla essence
50g butter, cubed
1 tsp. ground cinnamon

-Preheat your oven to 190หšC. Dust a clean surface and a rolling pin with flour and roll out your puff pastry until itโ€™s at least 5 cm larger than your pan around the edges.

-Peel and halve apples horizontally. Use a teaspoon to core them. Then put them in a bowl filled with water with half lemon squeezed (to stop them from browning)

-Put the ovenproof pan on a medium heat and add the sugar, juice and vanilla. Cook the mixture until caramel becomes light brown. Donโ€™t touch or taste the caramel

-When caramel is lightly browned and smells delicious add the apples. Carefully stir everything in the pan and cook for about 5 minutes or until the apples start to soften.

– Add the cubed butter and sprinkle cinnamon over the apples. And lay the pastry over the top. Quickly and carefully tuck the pastry down right into the edges โ€“ itโ€™s best to use a wooden spoon so you donโ€™t touch the caramel.

-Bake the tarte Tatin for about 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden, with crispy caramelly pieces bubbling up from under the edges.

-Be careful when taking the pan out from the oven. Put a tea towel on the handle to remind people not to pick it up (I did once and it hurt L, dummy)

-You can just serve it from there but to make it look like a tarte tatin it has to be flipped over. Use a plate larger than your pan to do this. Put the plate on top of the pan and in one move flip it over. Serve with ice cream or crรจme fraiche.

Plus here’s a video from Jamie Oliver’s website demonstrating the whole thing (makes life easier and I love how apple tarte tatin in pronounced :))

Leave some sweet thoughts

