Asparagus, Ham and Corn Muffins

Oh yes. I’m doing something savoury (shock!). Something to put the balance in life, I suppose. Actually this is more like my silent support for my parents who are trying to get on the healthy path. They’re kinda on the edge in terms of health concerns so I’m going to try to cut back on the sugary sweets (teardrops). I must try. So here’s one of my non-sweet attempts. 

Savoury muffins! When your mom buys you a new silicone muffin pan without you asking it’s a nice indication of what she wants doesn’t it? Haha. Anyways I used a basic muffin recipe from here. And sort of chucked in whatever seems appropriate. You gotta work with what you have and it’s fun that way anyway. 

I also love the colours on this muffin. Asparagus never looked so good. The creamed corn also gave the muffin an interesting texture (I wasn’t planning on using creamed corn, I thought the tin I opened was for normal corn but turns out it isn’t, and oh well it’s open you might as well use it, happy accident) If you make this recipe you can also add a sprinkling of cheese on top but it’s actually tasty as it is. It’s also great for lunchboxes, picnic food and whatnot. 

So cute that I had to make mini ones just for fun. My dad sort of complained with the small ones though, too small I guess haha.

So there you go have a go at something healthy.

Asparagus, Ham and Corn Muffins

1 cup self-raising flour (or half wholemeal and half plain four for something healthier)
1 tsp baking powder
75g butter, melted (or olive oil spread or another healthy butter-like spread)
175 ml semi-skimmed milk
1 egg
approx. 100g asparagus,chopped
100g champagne ham, cooked and chopped
1/2 cup creamed corn

-Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius
-Mix flour, baking powder, butter, milk and egg until combined (don’t overmix)
-Fold in the asparagus, ham and creamed corn into the mixture
-Spoon the mixture onto muffin pan.
-Bake for 25 minutes or until cooked through and golden brown.

Enjoy:))

2 thoughts on “Asparagus, Ham and Corn Muffins

Leave some sweet thoughts

