Apple and Strawberry Turnovers

Hi there!

It’s summer here in NZ but the past few days have been so un-summery lately. It makes me want to wallow in a pool of sheets and just stay there  like old winter me.  But hey, summer is summer no matter the weather and I’ve got some baking to cheer me up, right? Actually I have a lot of baking to look forward to. I’ve been borrowing tons from the public library and googling tons of fooood haha. Anyway for now I have this apple and strawberry turnover. 

I love recipes wherein you just toss everything into a bowl and it’s happily simple. Look at those apples and strawberries mingling with each other. Happiness.

You can use any kind of apple. I used one Granny Smith and one Gala apple because two colours are fun:)

Turnovers are also easy because it just involves turning the pastry on itself. Well to be honest I thought turning the pastry was meant to be freestyle but I googled images of turnovers and they all seem uniform. So I guess I’ll just call this a freestyle turnover and be happy, haha. 

Also all of that delicious syrup oozing temptingly is a bit of an accident. A yummy accident. I put in too much juice than the recipe required but still was alright. The bottom just became a bit too soft from being soaked. 

The way I made the turnovers were quite enormous. So if you’re into portion control you can just cut up the pastry into smaller pieces. Or there’s always the option of sharing. Next thing you’ll know there’s nothing left.

Apple and Strawberry Turnover from The Spice Who Loved Me

3 sheets puff pastry
2 apples, cored and chopped
1 punnet strawberries, chopped
1 tbsp butter, melted
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp orange juice
Milk for glazing

– Thaw puff pastry according to directions on package
– Line a baking tray with baking paper
– Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius
– Mix apples, strawberries, butter, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, vanilla and orange juice in a bowl
– Spoon the fruit mixture onto the thawed puff pastries
– Fold the pastry on itself to close any openings and glaze over with some milk
– Bake in the oven for 30 minutes or until the pastry turned golden.
– Let it cool for a few minutes before serving.

Yumyum. Enjoy:))

2 thoughts on “Apple and Strawberry Turnovers

  1. I’m back! I loveee baking but my oven broke down and now I am on the lookout for no bake desserts until I can save up for that new oven. This looks yummy!

    1. Hey Wawan sorry to hear about your oven :(. Hope you get a new oven super soon! There’s a lot of no bake desserts out there like cheesecakes ice box cakes, fruits and cream recipes . I made some no bake mini cheesecakes before http://wp.me/p1NBNj-3W that was yummy too. Tell me how your no bake desserts turn out:))

Leave some sweet thoughts

