Leaving chocolate chip almond cookies for santa

So my sister reminded me that it’s the eve of christmas eve. So what do you prepare before christmas eve? Cookies for santa of course.

I’ve been a fan of “Santa Claus” ever since he gave me an awesome toy kitchen set when I was 5. I really, really believed he was magic. Mostly because I have an uncle who had a knack for making up stories about meeting the real Santa Β like how the sleigh went down on our small driveway and whatnot ( I love how everything is so easy to believe during your childhood, when a dude gives you presents it isn’t hard to believe anyways ).

Call me stupid but I kept on believing in Santa til I was in 5th grade. My parents were very consistent with “magically guessing” my wishes but Santa was totally real when I got a PlayStation with bundles of games (years later my mom will tell me the story of her frantic search for a PS1, she could’ve said that Santa is not real and it was freaking expensive but my mom has her own magic). I even had a small debate with my friends about the realness of Santa (because they got coins from “Santa”. I just told them they probably weren’t nice enough and didn’t give clear wish lists).

Anyhoo. Last year, during the family reunion in the Philippines, my little cousins from America brought out biscuits and rice milk for the bearded dude in the red suit (but my aunt did say he won’t come there because there wasn’t any chimney in the house, she didn’t encourage Santaness because she has 5 children…budget hehe). This is striking for me because they still laid those out plus some veggies for the reindeers even though they weren’t getting any while years ago we never thought of giving anything for our Santa. Just our letters. Tsk Tsk. While Santa wasn’t real our lack of gratitude was.

So here’s my belated cookies for Santa aka mom and dad. Thanks for going crazy running around looking for Santa gifts even though later on we already knew it was you haha.

Some ice cold coffee with the cookies, because it’s so hot in NZ (when Santa is portrayed in commercials he’s wearing beach shorts hehe).

Chocolate Chip Almond Cookies Β 

2 1/4 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup butter
1/2- 3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4- 1 cup white sugar
1-2 tsp vanilla essence
2 eggs
1 1/2 chocolate chips
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 cup almonds, whole or chopped

– Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius and line a baking pan with baking paper
– Mix everything in a bowl in the order above except for the chocolate chips and almonds
– Fold in the chocolate chips and almonds
– Spoon the cookie batter or use an ice cream scoop to make balls and place them on the baking pan.
– Bake for 10-15 minutes depending on how you’d like your cookies (watch them every few minutes, I guess)
– Place them in cooling racks for a few minutes

Enjoy and Merry Christmas!

Leave some sweet thoughts

