Blueberry Crumble Cake

Hey there! I think it’s about time to talk about something I baked again.  Just because.

First off, blueberries! 

They’re so cute and little and I usually interact with them only for baking. I guess if you’re a health nut you’d be mixing them in  your muesli or something but I’m not a health nut and I don’t usually eat muesli (I’m not sure if I don’t like it because I haven’t really eaten enough of it to form an opinion, I guess) so blueberries and I meet by the mixing bowl on the way to the oven most of the time. So hi blueberries! Bye blueberries!

So crumble cake. Simple (like most of what I do) and delicious. I love that it kinda has a rustic charm to it. So homey. If the weather was cold I’d pair it with a fluffy blanket, tea with milk and bunny slippers. For now iced coffee is gooood. Definitely need some homey goodness these days. It helps with the nerves. Nerves on moving houses (indicated by the random box in the background), nerves on getting my confirmation on continuing to Postgrad, nerves on going into the real world, and nerves from all the nerves accumulated from all other events.  

I love the purple contrast the blueberries have on the golden surface of the cake. (Got too excited taking pictures I forgot to remove the bottom of the cake pan haha)

Mmmmm… Want a slice?

The cake by itself is lovely already but if you want to add a bit more fun a nice dollop of thick cream would be nice. I opted for vanilla custard (one of those pre-made stuff in the supermarket) and some gif magic haha

.

Oh I guess that’s about it. Definitely going to make more of these in the future.

See ya, hoping for happy, happy days ahead.

Blueberry Crumble Cake (from Cooking Desserts book)

Cake: 1 cup plain flour
3/4 cup wholemeal flour
1 cup caster sugar
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 cup/150g blueberries
1 egg, room temperature
3/4 cup milk
1/3 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla essence
Zest of 1 lemon, finely grated

Topping: 1/2 cup/60g walnuts or pecans, chopped
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup plain flour
1 cup/150g blueberries
2 tbsp oil

– Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius and grease a 20 cm springform cake tin.
– Sift the flours, sugar, baking powder and cinnamon into a bowl. Then combine the husks (the stuff left on the sieve) with the flour mixture.
– Toss the blueberries into the flour mixture.
– In a smaller bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, oil, vanilla and lemon zest.
– Mix the egg mixture into the flour mixture. Then pour the mixture into the cake tin.
– For the topping, combine walnuts/pecans, brown sugar, plain flour and blueberries and sprinkle this mixture evenly on top of the cake batter.
– Drizzle the oil on the topping.
– Place in the oven and bake for 50-55 minutes.
– Serve with a dollop of thick cream.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumble Cake

Leave some sweet thoughts

