Ancient Baked Apricot Custards

Ooohh ancient..does this mean it’s been stuck in the cupboard for 10 years before eating? (ugh I know right even I think my joke’s dry)

Anyways…it’s ancient because it’s supposedly based from an ancient Egyptian recipe. Cue Cleopatra. I got this recipe from World Kitchen. I super love that show and super duper envy the show’s host, Nici. She gets to travel around the world and eat! Eat and freaking travel. And the best bit about the show is that she doesn’t just go and eat at the famous restaurants she also goes into the hidden nooks and crannies and really dive into the culture of how food is prepared in another country. I just so wish that they make TVs with smellavision already. Or that TV from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where you just grab and what’s in there can be in your hands. Seriously. Oh well for now I’ll watch TV and make my food copy. And here’s my attempt.

I love the cracked surface and the sliced almonds. So pretty πŸ™‚

When I was making this I realised I couldn’t find any of my ramekins (dad’s packed them already) it’s a good thing we still had these cups from our family friend. They brought them some time ago laden with another type of custard. Phew.

I love the photo above. I’m not a photographer and I only have a point and shoot but I’ve always wanted to take that kind of shot, now I’ve got one haha.Β 

It’s also my first time baking with apricots.Β 

I was also reading Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. Sadly, I finished the custard but didn’t finish the book. I wasn’t in the mood for classics so just returned it to the library and went on to read one of the Dexter novels by Jeff Lindsay. Hehe.

Ancient Baked Apricot Custard (from World Kitchen)

300g fresh apricots, de-stoned and pureed (soaked dried apricots are ok too)
4 eggs
Β½ cup sugar
ΒΌ cup cream (or milk I used that and it turned out fine, hehe)
1 heaped tablespoon ground almonds
Sliced almonds and mint leaves to garnish

– Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.
– In a bowl whisk together eggs and sugar, then cream.
– Fold in the ground almonds and pureed apricots.
– Grease 4 ramekins and pour the mixture into the ramekins.
– Place the ramekins in a larger pan and pour hot water in that pan until the water is halfway up the sides of the ramekins.
– Bake for 45 minutes or until the point of a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.
– Garnish with sliced almonds/mint leaves/yogurt.

Enjoy!

BTW there’s a giveaway at my other blog Brainbreaking, check it out πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Ancient Baked Apricot Custards

    1. thanks Razel πŸ™‚ I kinda enjoy playing around with the digicam pretending it’s a DSLR hehe. The custard has a different kind of flavour I haven’t tasted before so it’s interesting too πŸ™‚

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

Leave some sweet thoughts

