Banana Bread and Bloggers

Happy Auckland Day! Yay!

I wish I have an Auckland thing or Kiwi themed post right now but I just knew it was Auckland Day today. I should’ve made a pavlova or some lamingtons. But oh well, better luck next year. Haha

Today instead I have banana bread. Lots of people have made banana bread, are we all a bunch of monkeys forgetting to eat our bananas? Well that’s the reason why I started making banana bread some time ago. My family loves bananas but somehow they get overlooked and go overripe and then ew what a weird thing to start eating and poof it becomes banana bread. 

The first time I made banana bread I was so happy that it actually looked like bread, who knew? So soft. But it’s also like cake how it’s so moist so yeah. I guess it depends on how many bananas we have left in the house.

I’ve only made banana bread from one kind of banana (the Cavendish variety) and even though it’s from the Philippines I still kind of wonder what it would be like to use other bananas. Back home there were others like the señorita which were very small bananas that were usually sold in big bunches. And the medium, sort of flat ones (name escapes me, maybe it’s saba?) that my grandma used a lot when making desserts. There’s a whole bunch I can’t remember but I’d like to make desserts with other bananas too.

I made this banana bread with some almonds (yes, always with a bit more crunch is nice) but you can use walnuts or pecans. 

And I have some news. I’m a featured blogger on Bloggers.com today! Yay! I don’t know if actual people picked me or some algorithm they used to pick members but either way it still feels awesome! I found out this morning when I opened my email and got lots of friend requests from my Bloggers account. Haha, funny but nice pat on the back. It only lasts a day so of course I took a screenshot haha. 

Banana Bread

2 1/2 cup flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup butter, melted
1 1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 large eggs
approx. 2 cups ripe/ overripe bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 cup almonds, chopped

– Preheat the oven to 163 degrees Celsius
– Mix flour, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon.
– Add the butter, brown sugar, vanilla and eggs to the flour mixture and mix well.
– Fold in the mashed bananas and almonds.
– Place in loaf pan or a cake pan and bake in the oven for 60-70 minutes or until the end of a fork or stick comes out clean.

Enjoy! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread and Bloggers

Leave some sweet thoughts

