Red Velvet Cupcakes with Creamy Vanilla Frosting

Hi there ๐Ÿ™‚

I suppose it’s a bit late to say Happy Valentine’s Day (at least here in NZ). So never mind that. I’m not really a fan of that day anyways. But I also like that day because all the cute creativity in food blogs popping up with baked hearts and fondant roses. So for valentines I wanted to try making red velvet cupcakes.

I can’t say it was the simplest thing I’ve tried to make. The cake was pretty standard in difficulty but the frosting took a bit of patience. If you haven’t tried this kind of frosting before you really should, it’s amazing :).ย 

I actually came across the recipe while browsing videos on the Epicurious widget of our TV. I guess what struck me was that the frosting has flour in it. Interesting.

I know the cupcake doesn’t really look that attractive. I’m honestly not good at decorating but this time I just decided to spoon the frosting onto the cupcake, unfussy. I’m just so happy it came out like I wanted and the cupcakes were moist and yummy and looked red, haha.

I started to put some sprinkles and then bleh they don’t look cute this time so just stuck a chocolate button on top of each. (Wow I sort of sound extra lazy)

I’d definitely make this cupcake recipe again! Oh and BTW this recipe is from a New York bakery called Magnolia Bakery. Apparently it’s world-famous, so that’s why these are very good. When I think about it the only negative thing I can say about this is that there’s a lot of cleaning up to do afterwards haha.

And to end this little post I have an old drawing that’s nearest to Valentines-y as I could get haha. Here’s some love from Homer.

Red Velvet Cupcakes with Creamy Vanilla Frostingย (from Epicurious)

Cupcakes:
3 1/2 cups cake flour
170g butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 large eggs, room temperature
6 tbsp red food colouring
3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 tsp vinegar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda

Frosting:
6 tbsp plain flour
2 cups milk
450 g butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius and place cupcake liners on cupcake pan.
– In a small bowl sift the cake flour and set aside.
– In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar for 5 minutes until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each.
– In another small bowl, whisk together food colouring, cocoa and vanilla. Add to batter and beat well.
– In a measuring cup add the salt to the buttermilk. Add the buttermilk to the batter in three parts, alternating with the flour. Beat well until just combined.
– In another small bowl, mix vinegar and baking soda. Add this to the batter and beat well til batter is smooth, scrape the sides of the bowl with a spatula.
– Place batter on cupcake holes and bake for 30-40 minutes.
– For the frosting, whisk flour and milk in a medium saucepan. Place this over medium heat and stir constantly for 10-15 minutes (patience!) until it’s thick and starts to bubble. Cover with baking paper directly on the surface and let cool to room temperature, 30 minutes.
– In a large bowl, beat butter on medium speed for 3 minutes til smooth and creamy. Add sugar and beat for 3 minutes til fluffy. Add vanilla and beat well.
– Add cooled milk mixture and beat for 5 minutes til frosting is smooth and noticeably whiter in colour. Cover and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
– Put frosting on top of cooled cupcakes.

Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes with Creamy Vanilla Frosting

Leave some sweet thoughts

