Orange Loaf Cake

Hello there!

Orange you glad it’s monday? No? Well I’ve got something to cure monday-itis, sort of. 

Oranges! They’re not very popular in our household. So I had to do something before they go bad. So sad.

And poof loaf cake! It’s simple and you get a really soft moist cake. It’s like a pillow, an orange-tasting pillow.

It’s so pillowy soft I took it to my bedroom. Haha. Well, I didn’t sleep on it. I was just chasing light and during the late afternoon my bedroom is the most well lit. Oh the life of a light chaser. The light chasing is like my dream chasing, haha. If there’s a dim light on this one, walk to the next window.

This is great for maybe a lazy breakfast. Start your day with something happily simple? Sounds good.

Or maybe afternoon tea time. A cup of fragrant tea (I like rose and french vanilla :)) and a slice of this then just a few minutes of basking in the sun. We have to catch every remaining sunlight and warmth left this season. In just a few moments the chill will settle again and we’d be stuck under the covers.

Bedroom window view. Not really a cityscape of a seascape, more roofscape. But there’s beauty in everything. Some people will take that roof, cut it up and call it shabby chic. Well look at my shabby chic view.

That’s it for now, maybe next time there’ll be another view and another part of the house haha.

Orange Loaf Cake

125g butter, softened
2 cups soft brown sugar
2 eggs
Zest and juice of 1 orange
Pinch of salt
2 cups plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp milk

– Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line loaf pans.
– Cream butter and sugar til fluffy. Add the eggs and beat the mixture.
– Add the orange zest and juice and pinch of salt.
– Sift in the flour and baking powder. Then add milk.
– Beat everything till combined.
– Place onto lined pans and bake for 30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Orange Loaf Cake

  1. this is just so yummy… i think i will start posting my cooking styles also (as if what style, lol). i’m not really a good cook but i love food, and i love to eat and so often times, i also cook. but baking is still something for me to explore…

  2. what perfect timing! i was just looking for a citrus-y cake recipe and this looks so moist and yum. definitely going to try this next 🙂

  3. This is my husbands favorite! I follow the recipe exactly with the exception of using shortening in place of butter. Also I converted the heat to 355 degrees instead of Celsius. It takes an hour and five minutes for my cake to fully bake. Any ideas why? Also how did you get your cake to come out with that lovely orange-red hue? Otherwise mine tastes lovely!

    1. wow that’s awesome! it’s good to know it still tastes yum with shortening. I’m not really sure why your cake took double the time…I use small loaf tins and place them in the middle of the oven (I don’t do anything differently…) oh and the cake is more orangey brown..I guess the photo made the colours looks saturated in a different way. thanks for dropping by! glad you enjoyed this one! 😀

Leave some sweet thoughts

