Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Scones

They look like fat cookies.

That’s what my mom and sister told me when I finished baking these goodies. Fine. Appearances aside it was quite nice for my first scones. Then again it might’ve been the presence of chocolate that nailed it. My family will probably eat anything with chocolate haha. Our waistlines are doomed!

So here they are. My scones waiting it out in the oven.

And here they are in their baked glory. With some brewed coffee they’ll surely make you smile. And that’s important because I made them to make me smile. Baking is all I need to counter the awful weather that’s been going on for days. ย I need sunshine! ย  Not just for my mood but also for my food photos! Haha.

Wanna see what’s inside? Oh chocolate.

Scone photo blast! Yeah.

Besides good weather I also need a fairy jobmother. Can someone get that for me? I can already imagine a corporate-chic fairy. But seriously, looking for work makes me want to do my undergrad all over again. Haha. I need to collect more experience/qualifications.

Oh well on the bright side, I have so much time left for baking. I think I’m really improving.

I think I’ll be a really good baker if I can keep the kitchen clean when I bake. But then it’s happy chaos, then again it’s hard to clean up after myself. I guess I’ll work on that. For now, I’ll have a scone.

Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Sconesย (from Skinny Taste)

3/4 cup cold buttermilk
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup plain flour
1 cup wholemeal flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp chilled butter,cut into small pieces
3/4 cup chocolate chips
glaze:
1 egg white, lightly beaten
1 1/2 tbsp sugar

– Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Line a baking pan/s with baking paper.
– In a small bowl, whisk together the cold buttermilk, sugar, vanilla extract and egg.
– In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder and salt. Cut in chilled butter into the flour mixture using a pastry blender or use two knives (I tried using a stick blender, works too)til mixture resembles coarse meal.
– Fold in the chocolate chips. Add milk mixture and mix until combined and moist.
– Place dough on floured surface and knead four times with floured hands.
– On the baking pan form the dough into a 9 inch circle and cut into 12 wedges. If you want rounded scones, take each dough wedge and form a ball roughly (if you decide to make them into balls you’ll need another baking pan).
– Brush egg white over the scones and sprinkle with sugar.
– Bake in the oven for 18-20 minutes until golden.

Enjoy!

Leave some sweet thoughts

