Upside Down Chocolate Banana Cake

Hi there!

i’ve got bananas again!

I can’t help not baking when there’s bananas around. I love bananas but I just can’t leave them plain alone. When I was younger, my sister and I would put toppings on bananas all the time. Mostly with peanut butter and other variations of it then with ice cream. Whatever, we loved our bananas. Mostly because my sister liked everything yellow when she was little and we loved Bananas in Pajamas- we even had a inflatable doll that was almost as tall as my sis then. My grandma also made Filipino desserts/snacks from bananas all the time- banana que, turon and maruya.

I miss my lola! (that’s grandma in Filipino)

Fast forward to now, I can make banana bread but I still haven’t made any of the stuff my grandma made. I really should make some. For now I have this banana chocolate upside down cake!

Someone’s already beaten you to it.

Plop a scoop of ice cream on top for good measure. I got chocolate eclair. Mmm.

You have caramel, chocolate, banana and ice cream. Weeee!

Then the ice cream melts. So good!

Definitely finish this off before someone else’s menacing fork comes to grab your slice! Dun-dun-dun!

Upside Down Chocolate Banana Cake (from Pastry Studio)

4 tbsp butter
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp brown sugar
2-3 ripe bananas, sliced 1/4″ thick
1 1/2 cup cake flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp hot water
1/3 cup buttermilk, room temperature
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp canola oil
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
2 eggs

– Preheat oven to 176 degrees Celsius.
– For the topping, place metal cake pan in stove and melt the butter in it. Whisk in brown sugar and cook for a minute until blended. Distribute mixture evenly in the pan.
– Place sliced bananas on top of the butter-sugar mixture. Then set aside.
– In a bowl, sift flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
– In a different bowl, whisk together cocoa powder and hot water.
– In a measuring cup, mix buttermilk and vanilla.
– In a large bowl, mix oil and sugars until they resemble wet sand. Add eggs and combine well. Whisk in the cocoa mixture.
– Add flour mixture into the batter in 3 parts, alternating with the buttermilk mixture. Beginning and ending with flour mixture. Mix until combined.
– Pour the batter over the bananas.
– Bake for 33-35 minutes til toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes.
– Place patter over cake and invert.

Enjoy!

You might also like:
Banana Cake with Chocolate Frosting
Banana Bread

6 thoughts on “Upside Down Chocolate Banana Cake

Leave some sweet thoughts

