My sister turns 18!

Yay! So like my title says my little-not-so-little sister is now eighteeeeen! I can’t believe it. I feel so old, man.

So her birthday was last wednesday, 4th of April. She had uni so I was half awake when I started singing happy birthday to her when she was getting ready in the morning. It’s a good thing we already blew up a bunch of balloons the evening before so we had a lil something before she goes out.

The candle even played the happy birthday tune. Everything can play tunes nowadays, cards, banners…now candles! While I’m still talking about this pic, see those balloons? My mom is a pro in blowing balloons. I blew only one balloon and my cheek hurt. Good thing we had a pump–but my mom still made balloons faster. Haha.

I didn’t make any of those stuff in the photo above, they were all store bought–gasp!

So during the day I rolled my sleeves and got cracking near the oven. After all my sister turning eighteen is a big deal. People usually throw big debut parties when someone turns 18 (well in the Philippines at least). And my sister didn’t want her birthday to be costly so she made mom cancel her gift (which was supposed to be recording sessions at a studio). With that in mind, “I shall make an awesome cake!”

And well I came up with this. Umm it’s supposed to be a ukulele shaped cake. It’s quite a big cake, actually. I know it’s not that pretty.But I tried my best. It’s red velvet cake with creamy vanilla frosting. There’s chocolate wholemeal biscuits. And there’s some chocolate plastic/clay. Looks kiddie, I know.

Don’t be fooled by appearances because the inside is oh so good!

BTW I took the red velvet recipe from that time I made red velvet cupcakes. My sister loved it so much she made an appreciation song for it (first one she wrote with a ukulele) so I had to make them for her birthday!

My mom made palabok! It’s a super yummy Filipino dish with noodles, smoked fish, spring onions…and lots of other stuff I need to learn haha. Nom nom nom!

So yeah that’s how we celebrated my sister’s birthday. I mean that’s my part of it, my sister had an awesome day in uni as well. But those stories are hers to share haha. Sometimes all you need to end a fun day is a bit of cake and some awesome Filipino food. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the birthday girl!

Swing by her blog and say hi ๐Ÿ™‚

Okiedokie see ya!

Leave some sweet thoughts

