Corn Ramen Soup/100th post! Yay!

corn ramen soup
Oooh something different today. I’m not baking and it’s not dessert. Haha. I’m trying to cook! Well y’know it’s soup so I figured I won’t mess it up. There’s nothing to burn so.. safe. Yeah.

So what sparked this sudden ramen cooking post? Well, a package of ramen of course. The Hakubaku organic ramen was one of the freebies I got when I watched Jiro Dreams of Sushi. I might as well do something with it. So I just followed the corn ramen soup recipe at the back of the pack. Haha. And you might’ve thought it came from something brilliant.
corn ramen soup
It was super flippin’ easy to prepare. Good thing too, it was almost past lunch and I’m not the type who skips meals. –I was so hungry I started eating the corn kernels from the can haha. Speaking of the can- I was so happy to find a super cheap can of corn kernels with an opener. Someone broke the can opener (almost a month ago!) and I must say baked beans on toast does not have the same express quality it used to have. Remember my leche flan post? That was harder than it should’ve been thanks to an invisible can opener. It’s a good thing I remembered how my grandma opened canned milk when I was younger.

Opening a can with a knife is no joke. Don’t take your can opener for granted. (Especially since it costs 30 bucks to replace–I’m too cheap to buy it and my parents keep forgetting haha)
corn ramen soup
Forget can openers and let’s rejoice with some ramen. Let’s also rejoice the canning companies who put easy open latchy thingys on their cans like in canned tuna and whatnot. Yay!

corn ramen soup

corn ramen soup
corn ramen soup
corn ramen soup
And to finish off. It won’t be ramen without some chopsticks, right? (Although being Filipino I ate this with a spoon and fork *spoiler alert*) Yeah I know they’re the takeaway chopsticks-leftover from sushi night- but I couldn’t find our proper wooden chopsticks. But that’s okay because I still look funny and unbalanced when I try to eat with proper wooden or metal chopsticks.
corn ramen soup
Anyways tadah! Β * cue Inuyasha opening theme song! (Because I love+miss Inuyasha and Inuyasha loves ramen!)
corn ramen soup
Corn Ramen Soup from the back of a Hakubaku ramen pack
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup corn kernels
1/2 cup bean sprouts
180g ramen noodles
5 cups vegetable soup stock
salt, to taste
sesame seeds (I used toasted spicy ones)

– Melt the butter in a frying pan. Add the corn kernels and bean sprouts and sautΓ© for 2 minutes then remove from heat and set aside.
– Place the ramen noodles in boiling water for 2 minutes then drain.
– Place the vegetable soup stock in a saucepan and add salt to taste. Add the ramen noodles to the stock and heat through.
– To serve, place ramen and soup on bowls then top with sauteed bean sprouts and corn kernel. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Enjoy!

Edit: This is my 100th post! I just realised now. So…Yay! Wooohoooo πŸ˜€ Blog milestone!

6 thoughts on “Corn Ramen Soup/100th post! Yay!

Leave some sweet thoughts

