Farm Animals- Shortbread Cookies dipped in chocolate

Old Mcdonald had a farm eya-eya-oooooooh.

Yes probably one of the cheesiest ways to start a post but oh well, I’m corny anyways.

I’ve made shortbread cookies before but it the first time I used the farm animals cookie cutters my sister gave me for my birthday last year. It was too much fun cutting up the shapes from the dough.

It’s an awesome way to spend a winter’s day. I sort of wish I did this when I was a little kid it would’ve made me so giddy and cookie crazed. I also think I’m sort of lame for not thinking of this as an activity back when I used to babysit.

I wish I had more dough to cut up. Haha. Here they are in their baked cuteness.

Of course it doesn’t end there! Just microwave some chocolate buttons. And have more fun.

A little lamb goes for a dip.ย 

Soon the animal characters look like they’re wearing sweaters. Teehee. Except the cat, it became a siamese cat. I had to work a little fast because our cold house was cooling the chocolate too fast haha. A few drops of chocolate fell on the countertop and in just a few minutes it solidified. I just microwaved the chocolate again and dipped away.

I had a few casualties while dipping my pets. Two cows split in two ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so sad. Then I ate them, happiness! Hahah.

And the fun doesn’t stop there. I let the 5 year old me loose and here’s what happened next….20120615-181037.jpg20120615-181116.jpg

20120615-181126.jpg20120615-181132.jpg20120615-181140.jpg

20120615-181154.jpg

20120615-181515.jpg

My sister also bought me dinosaur cookie cutters. Oh the joy!!! What shall I do with it next time?

Shortbread Cookies from Joy of Baking

2 cups plain flour
1/4 tsp salt
226g butter, room temperature
1/2 cup icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
180g chocolate buttons(or chopped)-optional

– Combine the plain flour and salt then set aside.
– Beat butter until creamy. Then add icing sugar. Beat for 2 minutes.
– Add the vanilla essence to the butter mixture and beat.
– Slowly add the flour mixture and mix until incorporated.
– Flatten the dough to a disc shape and wrap in plastic wrap then chill in the fridge for an hour until firm.
– Preheat oven to 177 degrees Celsius.
– On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough to a 1/4 inch circle.
– Cut out any shape you want- Farm animals!-using light floured cookie cutters.
– Place the cookie shapes in baking sheets and put in the fridge for 15 minutes (so they hold their shape when you bake them).
– Bake for 8-10 minutes until lightly browned.
– Cool on wire racks.
– Microwave the chocolate or use a double broiler to melt the chocolate. Then dip the cookies in the chocolate. Place in baking paper then place that in a fridge til chocolate hardens.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Farm Animals- Shortbread Cookies dipped in chocolate

Leave some sweet thoughts

