Mochi mochi donuts and Happy New Year!

Hello hello hello! Happy New Year everybody!

Congratulations on surviving the Mayan apocalypse and moving on to 2013. Woohooo!

Thank you for following my blog and staying despite my randomness. To all the interweb passerbys, hi there and hope you stick around for 2013!

IMG_5087

So here’s the last post for 2012. Mochi mochi donuts!

Anything round is supposed to be a good thing when celebrating New Year. An abundance of anything round is actually a big deal when preparing for New Year’s Eve—well at least that’s what I learned in the Philippines haha. All the roundness is supposed to bring the money *kaching!* in the upcoming year. My family isn’t that hardcore into that but my mom still makes it a point to prepare a fruit centerpiece composed of 13 types of round fruits. I know…there’s only 12 months in a year. Maybe the last type of fruit is like for a backup month or something.

In keeping with the luck of things round and circular I bring you these donuts! Donuts are round. And these donuts are formed by forming little balls and arranging them into a ring. Yay!

IMG_5049
IMG_5048
The next photo will remind me of one of my new years resolutions. I need to start using a tripod. Seriously…it’s kind of ridiculous how I was trying to click the DSLR while using the potato masher…
IMG_5051
IMG_5052
Form the balls…then form the rings ๐Ÿ˜€
IMG_5056
Then deep fry until golden.
IMG_5057
Yay!
IMG_5063
My sister told me that one of her friends visited my blog and liked it. But her friend thought I was too happy…like creepy happy. Mwahhaha!!!! Am I creepy happy? Hmm… should I make being less creepy happy a new years resolution on the blog? Nawwwww. This is my happy place. If you’ve read Stephen King’s Misery his character had a laughing place. This is mine. I may sound a little crazy on the blog but it keeps me sane in real life. Haha.

Donuts! They’re not perfectly circle. A little wonky like me. A little wonky like 2012.
IMG_5074
Time for toppings!
IMG_5083
Half of the batch is covered in white chocolate and sliced almonds. The other half is covered in milk chocolate and chopped peanuts. Sweet with a little crunch to keep things interesting. That’s what I’m hoping 2013 will be like too.
IMG_5086
There will be white chocolate days and darker days. But it will balance out. In the long run everything will be oh so good. This is your horoscope for 2013 brought to you by donuts. Yep.
IMG_5077

These babies are crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Awesomesauce!
IMG_5089Ahhh…so that’s it for 2012. Sweetness wrapping up for this year. Check back next year for more food, more randomness or both.

Mochi mochi donuts from runnyrunny999
1 cup shiratamako flour (I substituted with 2 cups mochiko or glutinous rice flour + 4 tbsp cornstarch)
200g silken tofu (no need to drain)
70g mashed potato
3 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
black sesame seeds (about 3 tbsp–you can adjust according to your preference)
cooking oil for deep frying
Squares of baking paper
Milk and/or white chocolate for melting
Sliced almonds and/or chopped peanuts or any topping you want

– Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Combine until a soft dough is formed. Add some water if the dough is too dry. Add some flour if too sticky.
– Grease hands with some cooking oil and form small balls of dough. Place the balls of dough on squares of baking paper and form rings.
– Heat cooking oil in a deep pan on medium heat.
– Place baking paper with the rings of dough on them. As the donut gets cooked you’ll be able to remove the baking paper from the oil.
– Deep fry the donuts until golden brown. Then take out off the oil and let it cool on a wire rack.
– Melt chocolate in microwave or double broiler. Then spread on top of the donuts. Sprinkle sliced almonds/chopped peanuts or any topping.

Enjoy and Happy New Year!!!!

Leave some sweet thoughts

