Potato and Balsamic Onion Tart

IMG_4661

Patatas and sibuyas. That’s potato and onion in Tagalog.

It’s a little embarrassing but I probably need to practice my Filipino…I just realised I’m quite terrible at it. If I reflect back on me conversing in Filipino –it seems like I almost always speak with wrong grammar. I don’t even have a wide vocabulary. For some reason I always interchange bawang and sibuyas–garlic and onions…
IMG_4647

Now that I think of it, blogging in Tagalog would be such a pain. I’d probably sound like some “conyo”. A term Filipinos use to describe someone who speak in Taglish (combination of Tagalog and English) a lot. It just sort of has a negative connotation because…it sounds kind of annoying (mostly because there’s an annoying type of voice that goes with it). I should know. I was that annoying before. Haha. I was so annoying, one of my bestfriends couldn’t sustain a conversation with me. Or maybe she just had low tolerance with vain people.

Ah anyways, let’s go back to my tart.
IMG_4650
Unlike the mastery of my own language, I’m getting better at rolling pastry. Hehe..
IMG_4652
As usual, making this was fun. My favourite part was cooking the onions. As soon as I combined the balsamic in the pan, an incredible aroma wafted through the apartment. And then I realised, I forgot to turn on the exhaust fan! Agh. The laundry is going to smell like onions!
IMG_4653
IMG_4668
This tart is meatless. So I had to pair it with a salad with strips of salami. Gotta have some meat.
IMG_4677
The salad’s pretty basic. A few greens, cut up pieces of salami, some feta cheese and a few splashes of Japanese mayo type of dressing. Nom nom nom.
IMG_4683
Dinner.
IMG_4666
Done!
IMG_4684

Potato and Balsamic and Onion TartΒ from Pease Pudding
3 red onions, peeled & finely sliced
Olive oil
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tsp brown sugar
1 large potato (200g), peeled & thinly sliced
100g feta cheese
1 free range egg
100ml milk
pinch of salt & ground black pepper

Wholemeal Tart:
110g butter
180g wholemeal flour
1 egg
2 Tbsp iced water
pinch of salt

– Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease & flour a loose bottom tart tin.
– For the pastry, place flour, butter and salt in the bowl and whiz until it resembles breadcrumbs.
– Add the egg and water and knead together briefly to form a dough. Then rest the pastry in the fridge for 20 minutes.
– Time to do the filling! In a large frying pan over a medium heat add a splash of olive oil and the sliced onions.
– Braise onions until they are soft, approximately 8 minutes then add the balsamic vinegar & brown sugar and stir through onions. Then cook them for further 2 minutes then let them cool.
– Roll pastry out to fit tart tin and press into place, trim edges off pastry.
– Spread onions over the pastry.
– Crumble the feta cheese over the onions then arrange the sliced potatoes over the top as in the picture (or however you want really just cover it with potatoes).
– Whisk together the egg and milk with the salt & pepper and gently pour over the potatoes.
– Bake for 35 minutes or until the egg has set and the potatoes are golden.

Enjoy!

Leave some sweet thoughts

