Berry Mochi Mini Cakes

IMG_5285Hello hello ๐Ÿ™‚ I have berry berry berry berry berry (okay that’ll be enough) good news! I’m going to be studying Graduate Diploma in Early Childhood Education this year! The faculty of education in my uni finally FINALLY gave me a flipping confirmation. I’ve been internally biting my nails and squeezing my insides since late november last year after the interviews. And man oh man. Call me teacher Nelli. On the other good news–I got approved in Postgraduate psychology (and in papers I wanted this time!) this year. *claps for self*. I can’t accept it though, because of good news number 1, obviously. It’s funny how not being accepted into the postgrad psych papers almost broke me last year–I’m really weak when it comes to academic rejection.

You don’t know how sweet it is to read ‘Pending Offer’ on my uni account. It almost feels like my crush proposed to me haha. I was suddenly ย so so so torn on whether to continue on with psychology or pursue this new path of education. Some of these thoughts have contributed to my need to wear concealer under my eyes. Psychology, we could say is my first love. Ever since that psych paper in my first year of nursing, I’ve been twinkle-eyed with our way of thinking and behaviour. So where’s this education thing coming from ?! Why am I suddenly picking it over psych? I saw how early childhood education is the application of the things psych researchers find out. And I saw the beauty of it. I love young children too. It’s a happy prospect. I have a feeling that 2013 will be berry berry berry promising.

Ahhhh enough about my academic melodrama and here’s something berry-ful and still works with my current mochi love. Berry mochi mini cakes! Technically they could be called cupcakes but it doesn’t seem to fit with how they look.
IMG_5268
IMG_5270
IMG_5276
I have to admit. I think I overdid it with filling this pan with strawberries and blueberries. I was too cheerful. Dancing around and dropping the berries with the music.
IMG_5273
IMG_5293
They got a little stuck but I got them out eventually. They’re not too good looking but they tasted niiiiice.
IMG_5294
Luckily I had a backup. I baked some of the batter in silicone bakeware and did not overfill it with berries. Soooo I still have something presentable for photos. Haha.
IMG_5287
It’s funny how food blogging has really affected me. I used to be happy with presenting great tasting food, not really minding how I can present it. Nowadays I also reflect on how photogenic they are. Haha. Well I’m learning as I go, right?
IMG_5290
Couldn’t help but drizzle a little bit of chocolate sauce. Mmmm… These mochi cakes have a pudding texture with a slight chewy quality to them. It’s really fun to try.
IMG_5292

Berry Mochi Mini Cakesย  adapted from Chowchaser

1 cup butter, melted (226g)
2 cups sugar
1 can evaporated milk (375 ml)
4 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups glutinous rice flour/mochiko
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 punnet straberries, chopped (might use less)
around 125g blueberries (might use less)

-Preheat oven to 176 degrees Celsius. Grease muffin pans.
– Stir melted butter and sugar together. Add evaporated milk.
– Add eggs one at a time into the batter. Stir well.
– Add the vanilla.
– Carefully add the glutinous rice flour, baking powder and salt into the batter.
– Spoon the batter into the muffin holes. Add the berries.
– Bake for 20-25 minutes.
– Let it cool in the pan for 3 minutes. Eat while still warm (though it’s still quite yummy when cold too)

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Berry Mochi Mini Cakes

Leave some sweet thoughts

