Strawberry Daifuku

Photo 19-01-13 9 30 48 PM
Hello hello there! Time for more strawberries. I know I can’t seem to get enough of berries, especially strawberries. *ahem* My blog banner is a little clue. If you check out my little index of the things I’ve made in this blog, there’s a high percentage of berry love (besides chocolate). It’s not that I don’t like to eat other fruits. I just got too much berry love from watching and reading the anime and manga Yumeiro Patissiere. And one of my favourite anime characters is Ichigo Amano (next to InuYasha and Honey senpai from Ouran High School Host Club)- and her name means strawberry in Japanese! So here I am trying to make most of the strawberry recipes I could find while it’s still in season.

I also want to take this chance to ask anybody I know to go strawberry picking with me while it’s still summer (with the notion that they will be driving me there mwahahaha).

Alright, Ichigo here we go!

I was so happy my punnet of strawberries came with normal looking (small to medium-ish) ones. I usually get enormous alien looking strawberries. The giants are awesome but not really photogenic, and they look like they’re going to talk to you.

IMG_5803

Red bean paste and strawberries. Pretty together. The red bean paste I’m using is a leftover from the batch I made with Chapssaldeok/mochiย . You can use the ready-made ones, of course. I still have a lil bag of adzuki beans so there’s still more anko (red bean paste)to be made from that. *Happy mochi dance*
IMG_5809
IMG_5812
IMG_5813

These mochi came out nicely than the ones I made with chapssaldeok with. ย That’s because I actually steamed this one instead of using the microwave to cook the dough. Kind of easier for me too, didn’t need to knead it much. No need to knead, get it? Mehehe..ayyy yeah corny. Yes. *runs away crying*
IMG_5814
IMG_5816

Tadah!
IMG_5817

And just because I couldn’t resist….
Photo 19-01-13 9 39 52 PM

You can almost always expect me to draw faces on one of my food photos. I don’t have incredible steady hands so I can do it on the food itself so…gotta do the next best thing. Always a kid.

IMG_5824

It’s a beautiful strawberry cross section. Hurrah!
IMG_5823Yum! Try it ๐Ÿ˜€

Strawberry Daifukuย from cooking with dog (I know. There really is a dog. Click the link to see their Youtube vid ๐Ÿ™‚ )
(6 pieces)

100g Glutinous Rice Flour
2 tbsp Sugar
95-100ml Water
Potato or corn starch (for dusting)
150g Anko. Sweet Red Bean Paste
6 Strawberries (approx. 15g each)

– Prepare your steamer so that it will be ready by the time you get to the mochi making step. Wrap the steamer lid with kitchen towel/dish cloth so moisture won’t fall on the mochi later.
– Take the leaves off the strawberries and rinse them.
– Divide the red bean paste into six equal portions. Take each portion and roll them into a ball.
– Flatten the balls of red bean paste and place the strawberry on it. Wrap the paste around the strawberry and roll them into a ball. Place these in a plate and cover it with cling wrap.
– For the mochi, combine the glutinous rice flour and sugar in a non-stick bowl. Gradually mix in the water. Mix it thoroughly, make sure no pockets of flour are left on the bowl.
– Place the bowl of dough inside the steamer and steam for 15 minutes.
– Dust a baking pan with starch.
– Take the mochi from the steamer and use a spatula to take it out of the bowl and place it on the starch covered pan. Divide the mochi into 6 equal pieces.
– Flatten the mochi and place the ball of anko covered strawberry on the mochi. Wrap the mochi around it and pinch the edges together to close it.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Strawberry Daifuku

    1. I know it’s hard not to love mochi. It’s adorable looking and delicious. Yeah Ouran High is really awesome. I just wasn’t a fan of how it ended abruptly in the anime. Wished it was a long as the manga.

    1. Aw i really loved Ouran hehe. Go for the manga ๐Ÿ™‚
      Super thanks! Ah you should definitely try making one. I usually make easy stuff so you’ll definitely be able to do it ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave some sweet thoughts

