Brownie Hearts with Almond Cream

IMG_6419Happy Valentines Day!

How are you celebrating heart’s day? I spent most of mine trying not to fall asleep inside a lecture theatre. I am super duper sleepy today. Maybe I should’ve skipped this day and just went back to sleep for the whole day. Haha.

Even though I’m not very fond of this holiday (it’s not even a holiday) I wouldn’t pass up on the chance to make something heartsy themed. Yay! I’m so exciting. (As I’m typing this I’m still feeling very very very sleepy.)

Anyways I really love these white chocolate brownies. Just eating them on its own is already enough. But I had some almonds and I’ve always wanted to make some almond butter. So I set the brownies and almond cream on a date. It was awesome.

IMG_6390
IMG_6399
Bam! Almond butter! It was easy to make. I just ground the almonds until the little food processor was smoking hot. It really had a bit of smoke haha. I was a bit scared but it’s so awesome! When it became creamy that when I added a teensy bit of vanilla, but you can add anything you like.
IMG_6391
white chocolate batter..mmmmm
IMG_6398
poof! brownies!
IMG_6403
The most awesome thing about cutting shapes is not the shapes but the excess brownie I get to eat while doing everything. Cute lil hearts.
IMG_6407
Candy hearts! Looks so cute but the taste ehrm..not too great. I just bought them for decoration, should’ve just stuck with those little chocolate hearts. Haha.
IMG_6393
Here they are with my almond cream!
IMG_6408
IMG_6417
More hearts!
IMG_6411
IMG_6409
IMG_6421
And that’s my valentines post. Haha. Too bad early childhood education doesn’t attract cute guys in uni(hello hello come over to Epsom campus haha), I don’t even have a crush. S’all good though, just watching my family goof off on valentines is just as awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

For a more valentines-y mood check out this music video Love Recipe by Clazziquai Project. Different kinds of love, everything sweet. Love the food shots too ๐Ÿ˜€

Brownie Hearts with Almond Cream ย adapted from KatCakes
125g unsalted butter
200g white chocolate
1/2 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
1 3/4 cup plain flour, sifted

Almond Cream
1 tbsp almond butter
1 tbsp icing sugar
8 tbsp cream
a drop of red food colouring

– Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line a baking pan.
– Place butter, 150g of white chocolate and caster sugar into a medium saucepan over medium-low heat.
– Stir to allow ingredients to melt and combine (if your mixture appears to split, such as the butter stays at the top, donโ€™t worry. This will easily be fixed).
– Once melted and smooth, remove from heat and cool for 5 minutes. Roughly chop the remaining 50g of white chocolate.
– Add the eggs, mixing after each addition. Mix the batter until smooth.
– Sift the flour into the batter. Then add the remaining white chocolate.
– Place the batter evenly into the prepared baking pan. Bake for 15-20 mins or until skewer comes out clean.
– Cool the brownies for 5 mins before taking it out of the pan.
– For the almond cream, beat all the ingredients together until soft peaks form.
– Spread the almond cream onto the cooled brownies.
– Decorate however you like.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Brownie Hearts with Almond Cream

  1. Very creative. I am spending this Valentine’s Day staying away from the roads. Soon enough, there are going to be floods of people who just realized they have forgotten about Valentine’s Day and must go to the store for emergency supplies.
    –JW

Leave some sweet thoughts

