Apple and Yoghurt Cake

IMG_6598Hello hello! (This greeting is getting more and more awkward now. Haha. I don’t even blog regularly anymore…tsktsk.)

I was supposed to put this post up a long time ago. It’s just that… by the time I wanted to post this cake I forgot how I made it. Haha. This is how my unplanned baking goes… I’m craving for something like cake. Then I check the fridge and see yoghurt. I thought…’yay yoghurt cake! Let’s try that’. I randomly pick a recipe online. Then realise I don’t have eggs. Then realise I don’t have all purpose flour. Then I get cranky for not having a bottomless pantry like Hogwart’s room of requirement. Finally, I get over myself and just try to amalgamate a couple of recipes together. Happy again!

Of course experienced bakers wouldn’t have too much problems adapting stuff and making them awesome. Well I’m still a beginner (I think I’ve been saying that for the last 5 years, haha) and I don’t really think so much when I bake. Haha I’m definitely not a perfectionist, I just bake/cook because I want to eat.

Ah anyways yoghurt…
IMG_6577
I went on a diet for a week (I’m a weakling who couldn’t last longer) counting my calories and such–what a pain. But I enjoyed eating yoghurt during that time. So…what better way to enjoy not being on a diet than to make something sweet with my favourite diet food. Haha. I’m never going to lose weight. D’oh.

Apples! Something I ate a lot during the extremely short diet. Why not smother them with sugar? haha.
IMG_6578
IMG_6585
IMG_6590
IMG_6616
Couldn’t even wait for it to cool down.
IMG_6620
IMG_6614
IMG_6608
If I was going to be accurate about naming this cake it would be the Upside down apple and yoghurt cake with rice flour. Haha. But you know, whatevs.

IMG_6600

Happy Easter!

[Edit:] Bunny. Eats. Design. invited me to Our Growing Edge link party! And I’m linking this because this experiment (that actually worked haha) goes with its theme of achieving a food related challenge,ย connecting and inspiring us to try new things. Sounds like a fun link party, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜€

our-growing-edge-badge

Apple and Yoghurt Cake

1 large apple, sliced
1/4 cup brown sugar
250g rice flour
150g sugar
300g yoghurt- any kind, I even used flavoured yoghurt.
50g butter
4 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla essence

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and line a pan (if not using silicone like moi)
– Line the pan with apple slices. Sprinkle the brown sugar over the slices.
– Place in the oven for 10 minutes.
– Whisk rice flour, baking powder and salt in a bowl.
– Beat butter and sugar together in another bowl. Then add yoghurt and vanilla essence.
– Fold in the dry ingredients into the batter.
– Pour the batter on top of the apple slices.
– Bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes.
– Turn over onto a plate.

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Apple and Yoghurt Cake

  1. I’m so jealous that you can cobble recipes together and come up with something as lovely as this. If I tried this, I’d come out with apple scented rocks.

    This post would be great for Our Growing Edge link party. This event aims to compile a monthly snapshot of new foodie experiences and aims to connect and inspire us to try new things. A “growing edge” is the part of us that is still learning and experimenting. It’s the part that you regularly grow and improve, be it from real passion or a conscious effort.

    More info can be found here:
    http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge
    or the link party here:
    http://www.inlinkz.com/view.php?id=258061

    I hope you can join us Sweets and Brains. Wishing you a delicious week!

    1. Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€ You know apple scented rocks sound like something you’d get from Lush hehe. Our Growing Edge sounds awesome, I’d love to link this post to it ๐Ÿ™‚ Hurrah for experimentation!

      Have a delicious week too!

Leave some sweet thoughts

