Pancakes with Blueberry Sauce

IMG_6933Who loves pancakes?

I do! I even have them for dinner. Haha. But there was this really weird breakfast when I made the worst pancakes of all time. Even sadder was that we had a guest when I made it. D’oh! I made pancakes with rice flour, thinking I could use it in pancakes like normal flour. I should’ve stopped when the batter wouldn’t thicken a little even after copious amounts of flour. What did I get? Powdery pancakes that look like paper and tastes worse (y’know how people on TV say stuff like ‘tastes like cardboard’. I wonder if they have eaten cardboard…On the other hand, I ate paper when I was a kid so my comparison still stands). It was almost eatable if I put lots of butter in the pan. Oh I remember the horror like it was yesterday. I mean…who fails pancakes? I know I’m catastrophising that one event but I can’t help it. At least I learnt something and won’t forget haha..

But these pancakes aren’t like those in my story. These are just good ol’ pancakes with good ol’ blueberry sauce. Suh-weeeeeet.
IMG_6937
IMG_6939
I remember how sweet the sauce was.

It was so easy to make that I’m definitely going to try it again and put it on cheesecakes or whatever.

Look at that sauce.
IMG_6942
IMG_6941
Take a forkful and nom nom nom….
IMG_6956
IMG_6959
I used the basic pancake recipe I also used here. But I didn’t have wholemeal at the time and just when with plain flour the whole way.

Blueberry Sauce from My Baking Addiction

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons cornstarch + 2 tablespoons cold water
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Zest of 1 lemon (about 1 tablespoon)

– Combine blueberries, water, sugar and lemon juice in a pan over medium heat. Stir frequently ’til it comes to a low boil.
– Mix cornstarch and cold water in a small bowl. Then add this mixture to the blueberries and stir carefully to not crush the blueberries.
– Simmer until the sauce is thick enough to coat the back of a metal spoon.
– Take it off the heat and gently add vanilla and lemon zest.
– Pour over pancakes! Yay!

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Pancakes with Blueberry Sauce

  1. You have a yummlicious blueberry sauces and I am drooling already. I think rice flour should be ok, there are lots of recipe in south east asia similar to pancake and with rice flour ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. yeah I know several rice cake kind of stuff that are like pancakes but I didn’t use the rice flour that way so my pancakes in the story didn’t turn out too good. Haha. Lesson learnt.

Leave some sweet thoughts

