Glazed Lemon Cake with Sweetened Coconut

IMG_7142When life gives you lemons…do not go on lemon detox.

I like lemons, they bring an awesome zing to a dish. They cut through too much sweetness in a dessert. I also like them with soy sauce as a dip for fried meat. I like lemons but not when it’s the only taste I can experience. Over and over…ugh. I am not built for one-food diets. My friend told me that she ate saba bananas for a month to lose weight–I love bananas but NOT that much.
IMG_7140
I didn’t want the detox to result in me being lemon aversive. Sooooooo…I have to make lemon cake! That’s only logical way isn’t it? Hahahaha…. Yes of course. It’s the only way.
IMG_7125
Oh man…when that aroma of lemony cake wafted through the apartment I knew there was nothing to worry about. I don’t even need to tell you that whole thing about life and lemons.
IMG_7128

Just look at that glaze, clearly I’m not on a diet. Woo!
IMG_7129
IMG_7139
This recipe makes 2 pound cake loaves. But I just put them together because I can! Haha. This is a cake revisit too as this was what I made in the first baking post I ever did in the blog. Bad lighting and everything [admittedly my photo skills aren’t that improved but I time my photo taking now]. Haha. The only thing I did a bit differently this time is the addition of sweetened coconut. I added this because I was watching a show called My Kitchen Rules and the dudes had a dessert with lemon, coconut, chocolate and chilli. I’m not sure if I wanted to try chilli and chocolate so I just went with the first half combo.
IMG_7144
IMG_7141

See, my friend Tina likes it too ๐Ÿ˜€ Yay!
IMG_7154

IMG_7155

Glazed Lemon Cake with Sweetened Coconutย from Martha Stewart and LiveStrong

227g butter, softened
3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
Zest of 2 lemons, finely grated
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 cups sugar
5 large eggs

2 cups icing sugar
3-4 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup dessicated/shredded coconut
1 tbsp icing sugar
1 1/2 tsp canola oil
2 tsp water

– Preheat oven to 176 degrees Celsius. Grease and line 2 loaf pans or one cake pan.
– In a small bowl or measuring cup combine buttermilk and lemon zest and juice.
– In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.
– In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Then add the eggs one at a time beating well after each addition.
– Add the flour mixture in three parts alternating with the buttermilk,beginning and ending with flour. Beat until mixture is smooth.
– Pour into loaf pans or cake pan.
– Bake for 50-60 minutes at the bottom rack of the oven (cover with foil if browning too quickly–hehe forgot this bit).
– Cool 15 minutes in the pan. Then turn on the wire rack to cool completely.
– For glaze, place icing sugar in a small bowl and add the lemon juice. Add juice or sugar until desired consistency is achieved.
– Pour glaze over cooled cake, let it run on the sides. Let the glaze dry for 30 minutes.
– For the sweetened coconut, whisk together dessicated coconut and icing sugar in a bowl.
– In a smaller bowl, combine water and canola oil until well blended.
– Stir the liquid ingredients into the coconut and let it sit for 10 minutes. Stir mixture once or twice to turn it over.
– To serve, top the lemon cake with the coconut.

Enjoy!

Leave some sweet thoughts

