Olive Oil Lemon Pound Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

IMG_7183Hello there.

I’m a little late on the blog posting again. But you know…whatever. The best thing about blogging (mostly for myself) is that there are no deadlines, right? But then I’d still have a little itch in my mind telling me “Oi, you haven’t posted yet” but  it’s not as annoying as “Oi, your reflections and learning stories should be done by sunday.”

Dun dun dun…

Anyways…speaking of lateness, this is what I made for Mother’s day. We still had heaps of lemon from that detox and mom really enjoyed the lemon cake from last time. I was ready to dive into it when I realised…no butter! How can this be? I always feel a teensy bit sad when I don’t have butter, flour, sugar or cocoa. Haha…#pantryproblems
IMG_7159
IMG_7162So what did I do? Did I analyse the situation and scoured the pantry for other alternatives? No…lazy lazy googled lazy. Then I came across lemon olive oil cake at Carmen’s Kitchen. So I baked happily ever after!

Well sort of. I changed a few things, mostly because of being lazy. But it still turned out really well. You wouldn’t know that there’s no butter in it. Yay!

IMG_7171
IMG_7175
I’m not sure if pound cakes are supposed to crack this much at the top…ah anyways..covered it with frosting anyways haha…que sera~
IMG_7177
IMG_7189
IMG_7183
Nom nom nom…lemon cream cheese frosting. I also added mom’s favourite mix- It has peanuts, almonds and dried fruits. She eats it all the time ever since we asked her to stop buying potato chips, so I thought it would be a nice addition.
IMG_7193
IMG_7194
IMG_7198
Did I ever mention that my mom got me interested in baking here in NZ?
She baked butterscotch brownies for the first time here, because we didn’t have a lot of money and she thought baking a batch would be cheaper to bring to her office on her birthday. My sister tried baking them before I did, because I’m lazy and just liked watching and eating. Eventually, I couldn’t resist the lure of the kitchen so I tried to make chocolate chips cookies (in the toaster) it worked. And the rest is a new found addiction–I mean love story. Thanks mom.

My sister didn’t get into baking as much as I did. She got into more artsy stuff. Like writing and film-making. She’s actually fundraising for a short film right now. Check it out here and donate if you can, that would be awesome. Also just share it to more people.
IMG_7207

Olive Oil Lemon Pound Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting  adapted from Carmen’s Kitchen

2 ½ cups plain flour
1 ½ cups sugar
3 large eggs
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/2 milk
1 cup olive oil
3 teaspoons water
1 1/2 tablespoon of lemon zest

For frosting:
250g cream cheese, softened
2/3 cup icing sugar
zest of one small lemon
optional: dried fruits and mixed nuts

– Preheat oven to 176 degrees Celsius. Grease and line loaf pans.
– Place the ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Then use an electric mixer on high speed to beat everything together for a minute (or work your muscles and beat them with a whisk manually, yeah!).
– Pour batter into the loaf pans. Bake for 50-60 minutes (or until knife comes out clean).
– Cool for 5 minutes on the pan, then place on a cooling rack to cool completely.
– For the frosting, beat together cream cheese and icing sugar ’til well incorporated. Then add the lemon zest and beat.
– When the cakes have cooled, spread the frosting and place the toppings on top.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Olive Oil Lemon Pound Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. It is really really delicious!! soft and sweet, yet lemony taste all at the same time^^ eating one piece right now, that is just out of the oven. and it has a Japanese cotton cheesecake texture! melting into your mouth~!! Thank you so much for this recipe!!!

    1. So good to hear that! Thanks for dropping by and trying it out for yourself 😀 I haven’t tried a Japanese cotton cheesecake, that’s really interesting!

Leave some sweet thoughts

