GAOP: The Politically Incorrect Hippie

Think earthly hues, balloon sleeves, bangles and peace signs – what constitutes a 1970s hippie/boho look.

IMG_7466

Then add some hard elements, like metallised yarn on shiny polyester. Why not throw in a machine gun necklace?

IMG_7419

And BAM! You’re donning The Politically Incorrect Hippie look. It’s nostalgically trendy, laid-back, and kind of satiric. Like a Sofia Coppola film.

IMG_7448

IMG_7413

IMG_7440

Those curtains look a bit Lynchian, no?

IMG_7454

These leather boots may bring some Woodstock period realness but, like the machine gun necklace, they undoubtedly condemn this outfit to Ethical Hell.

To neutralise the previous statement, here’s a nice photo that showcases some flower power action.

IMG_7421

The headpiece is actually a part of an old halter top. When I don’t wear it on my head, I wear it around my waist. Give me some kudos for emulating sustainability through fashion?

Speaking of sustainability, I bought my dress from a secondhand shop off Queen Street called Recycle Boutique. The label says it’s Garage, which if I’m not mistaken is a clothing line by the Warehouse.

Anyway, it looks like you’ve come to the end of my first GAOP. In case you think I’m being completely serious throughout this post, here’s a photo of me petting my imaginary Great Dane.

IMG_7452

Get it? Great Dane = Scooby Doo = TrΓ¨s ’70s.

Cue pity laugh.

One thought on “GAOP: The Politically Incorrect Hippie

Leave some sweet thoughts

