Black Sesame Seed and Red Bean Thumbprint Cookies

IMG_7869Hello hello!

I am so sleepy right now but I’m fighting it to put this post up. Hahah. I don’t know why but I’m easily tired these days, even when I get enough sleep and exercise. I even drink less caffeine these days. I don’t even eat as much. Waaaaa….

BTW have you guys seen my sister’s GAOP? There’s going to be more to come. I took my sister’s photos so I’m quite happy to see those posts, hope you like them as much as I do! She’ll be putting more posts on the blog too we’re just thinking what those others will be. Yay to sisterly blogging.

Moving on…I made cookies! I haven’t made any for a long time so I’m quite happy that I made some. This is also the first time I made thumbprint cookies. They came out well too. I’ve been wanting to make some for a while, I don’t know what took me so long to finally get onto it. I also did something different with red bean paste so more yay!

Oh black sesame seeds.

IMG_7842

They’re not the prettiest thing to put on cookies but I had lots of them and they added a nice flavour to the cookie. Toasty, nutty flavour. Rollin’.

I also had a funny thing with the sugar in this recipe. I ran out of white sugar and only had raw sugar. I had to pound on it with a rolling pin to make it finer haha. That was fun.
IMG_7843
Thumbprint time. They look like nests.
IMG_7846
Red bean time.
IMG_7847

tadah!
IMG_7859
IMG_7863
I also baked some of the cookies empty. So my family can fill it with red bean paste as much as wanted. The more the merrier as always.

I actually didn’t plan on making these cookies. I just really wanted to use the red bean paste I made. Plus, the sesame seeds were looking quite sad inside the pantry.

The cookies came out buttery in taste, a bit crumbly with the slightly nutty sesame seed taste. Add red bean and la-la-la-la~
IMG_7856

Who cares if it looks like ants are crawling into my cookies. Hahhahahahaha
IMG_7868
IMG_7866
IMG_7859My mom did not like how they looked but she loved the taste. Ugly can be tasty.

I know it’s just a cookie but I tried something new so I’m going to add this to the awesome monthly link party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Chandler from The Chef with the Red Shoes. Yay!

our-growing-edge-badge

Black Sesame Seed and Red Bean Thumbprint Cookies adapted from Joy of Baking

113g butter, room temperature
1/4 cup granulated white sugar
2 egg yolks
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup  plain flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup toasted black sesame seeds
1/4 – 1/2 cup red bean paste (recipe here or use ready made)

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line a baking sheet with baking paper.
– Beat the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.
– Add the egg yolks and vanilla and beat to combine.
– In a different bowl, whisk flour and salt together.Then beat the flour mixture into the batter to combine.
– Roll the dough into small balls. Then roll the balls onto sesame seeds. Then make an indentation in the middle using your thumb.
– Use a teaspoon to place a bit of red bean paste in the middle of the indentation. Or roll the red bean paste into smaller balls then put those in the middle of the ball of dough.
– Place the balls in the baking sheet spacing them about an inch from each other. Then bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Some of  the bottoms become slightly golden.
– Cool on a wire rack.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Black Sesame Seed and Red Bean Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Very cute. Thanks for participating in Our Growing Edge this month, Marnelli!

    You could have fun making black sesame cookies and then rolling them in white sesame seeds for some opposite looking cookies 🙂

Leave some sweet thoughts

