F.O.U.R

Screen shot 2013-06-15 at 4.53.34 PM

I think my sister is more well-versed than me in the technical sides of photography – she actually researches about them! And all the while, I just stick my face on the viewfinder, convince myself that focal blur will make everything look schmancy, and click away.

So without further ado, here are my four photos for my F.O.U.R ย post this week. There’s definitely room for improvement (no duh) but I quite like these babies.

ONE
My friend Sam having a peek inside an abandoned restroom at Myers Park. This was taken early last year for one of Sam’s courses in uni.

We developed a kind of fondness for this little malaria den – I mean, who wouldn’t, right? It had so much Silent Hill realness with its coarse cement walls, rusty iron window covers and gate (it has a gate! not a door!), topped off by an eerie graffiti that said ‘HOME SWEET HOME’ (you could see it if you stood where Sam is in this photo).

P1140346

TWO ย 
You guessed right! This is a closer look on the malaria den’s window. I love me some rust and grime, okay?

This was taken a couple of months after the previous photo, but interestingly enough, I was also with Sam when I took this. I used a Canon D550 for this one, though (the previous photo was just from a normal Lumix digital camera).

Screen Shot 2013-06-08 at 9.38.54 PM

THREEย 
This one is a still from a short film I made mid of last year called Watered Down. It’s a very rough film, but I had so much fun making it with my friends ๐Ÿ™‚

Without giving much away, this photo still is meant to be the protagonist Agnes in miniature doll form. Appropriately, when you see this, Marina and the Diamonds’ song ‘Valley of the Dolls’ is playing in the background.

Screen Shot 2012-07-16 at 10.13.54 PM

FOURย 
I know, I know, it’s another photo with rusty steel. I dig decay. Shoot me.

Anyway, this was taken when I was walking along Manukau Road. That area of rubble used to be a gas station. I think it was 2 years ago when I saw a sign was put up saying that the gas station was about to be closed down because of a leak. I was pretty sure a massive, atomic bomb-like explosion would happen, but fortunately, that only happened in the doomsday-obsessed part of my brain.

IMG_7755

Guess that’s all for now!

Thanks for looking through my amateurish photos ๐Ÿ™‚

Christienne

One thought on “F.O.U.R

Leave some sweet thoughts

