Hello Kitty Cafe

IMG_7765Hello hello hello…..Kitty!

I love Hello Kitty, I love pink and the little girl inside me was very amused to hear of a Hello Kitty Cafe right here in Auckland! OMG. Who knew?

I’ve always wanted to go to a Hello Kitty Cafe in Taiwan or South Korea. I still plan on going to those someday but it’s fun to have a Hello Kitty themed cafe nearby. Yay!

I had an intense Hello Kitty phase as a kid and this just brings back so many memories. Haha. Now I miss my Hello Kitty lamp, phone, radio and other stuff I had. I still have some Hello Kitty on my bed so I guess the phase never left. Haha.

Anyways, are you ready for an overdose on pink?

IMG_7904

IMG_7931

IMG_7897

My sister and I came at a wonderful time. There weren’t a lot of people when we came because it was mid-afternoon and the lunch rush just finished. So I wasn’t too shy about taking lots of photos hehehe..
IMG_7895

IMG_7906

Love the pink!
I thought they would have more sweets, you know, shaped in Hello Kitty’s face and whatnot. But anyways I got a small chocolatey, nutty tart. I actually really liked this dessert but it was so small and a bit expensive for me. But hey, there’s a Hello Kitty fork!
IMG_7903

IMG_7917

The highlight for me was drinking my cappuccino in a massive hello kitty cup. Oh joy. I need to buy one of these for myself.
IMG_7909

IMG_7922

IMG_7907

IMG_7921

Christienne here!

This was actually my second visit to the Hello Kitty cafe – the first time was with my friend Seira – so I wasn’t as starry eyed as Marnelli. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed my visit.
IMG_7920

Excuse me for my haggard face – my sister insisted we post a photo of me with my drink. I tried out a medium cappuccino because I got a large Sweet Chai Latte last time. I guess I’m a bit of a coffee connoisseur, or a recovering coffee addict if you may, and I can say that I got my money’s worth with that cute cup of cappuccino. It was honestly the only reasonably priced item in the menu.

The Hello Kitty cafe is still worth a visit, though, especially when you appreciate cafes not just for their menu but also for their aura. This place is very promising, and I hope that the owner develops the Hello Kitty theme. Turning the notch up on the kitschy kawaii-ness won’t hurt, will it?

Anyway, here are more photos to showcase some of the cafe’s delightful details and bric-a-brac.

Hello Kitty salt and pepper shakers.
IMG_7898

A bicycle all decked out in stickers and cards. So kawaii!
IMG_7916

IMG_7935

IMG_7932
IMG_7924
So that was our little Hello Kitty filled afternoon.

IMG_7928See ya!

 

12 thoughts on “Hello Kitty Cafe

      1. Oh my YES!
        My Neighbor Totoro
        Arrietty
        Castle in the Sky
        Kiki’s Delivery Service
        Whisper of the Heart
        Princess Mononoke
        Spirited Away
        Howl’s Moving Castle
        Ponyo
        AND We have yet to see From Up on Poppy Hill, but it should be on the list! Can’t wait to see it!

      2. Ooooh ๐Ÿ˜€ So far the only ones I’ve seen is Arrietty, Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away. There’s more to watch after I finish my assignments. Yay
        !

  1. WHERE ON AUCKLAND IS THAT!!!!!!!!!!!!???????????????????? :OOOOO MUST. GO.!!!!!!!!!!! one of the people i know went there as well and its just too cute :33 omg. i would do the same. :L like take loads of photos. XD ahh!

  2. When I told my husband about this place a few weeks, he already knew about it. So I teased him and made up a story about how he’s a regular there. You know, just your average 35 year old white male Hello Kitty fan. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And if you love Studio Ghibli, you might get a kick out of this video of Hayo Miyazaki cooking instant noodles for his team at Studio Ghibli.

    1. Hahah ain’t no shame in being a 35 year old white male Hello Kitty fan. You should bring him there just to see him drink from Hello Kitty cups. The few guys I saw who went to the cafe didn’t even want to go inside, but their girl friends were like ‘come on!’

      I saw that video. So cool! The boss making noodles for everyone. More noodles!

Leave some sweet thoughts

