Red Bean and Nutella Dorayaki

IMG_7822Greetings from little Ms. Late Poster. My sister always puts her posts up on time and I’m just….late. Haha.

Anyways lateness aside it’s almost the semester break for me. Wooo! I only need one more assignment to submit and it’s making a website relating any activity to maths, science and technology. Of course I picked baking. Mwahahaha. I just need to be convincing and I’m home free! There are stacks of cookbooks waiting to be read and drawings in my head waiting to be drawn. I need to finish this assignment pronto. But in classic procrastinating fashion I’m bringing you a super easy thing to make first.

Dorayaki. It’s Japanese red bean pancake. I learnt about it from Ochikeron on Youtube. Basically it’s a little pancake sandwich. Make pancakes, put something in the middle and close. Boom there you go. Here are pictures to motivate you.

IMG_7803
IMG_7804
IMG_7806
Cover in cling wrap. To keep the moisture in. I realised I skipped a step because I forgot to let it rest in the fridge. Ooops. Turned out fine though..I think. 30 minutes is too long to wait for pancakes when you’re a hungry assignment crammer like me. Haha. The kitchen felt like a fridge anyways soooo…
IMG_7808
The second fun part next to eating. Filling!
You can choose to put red bean or nutella by itself. But they taste great together in my opinion.
IMG_7811
IMG_7813
IMG_7816
I made some red bean paste beforehand.
IMG_7818
You all know what this is
IMG_7819
And tadah!
IMG_7828
If you overfill it like I did, you won’t be able to close it well like one of these guys. Too bad. I guess you’ll just have to eat another, and another…and another. Just to check if they all taste great.
IMG_7821

Red Bean and Nutella Dorayaki from Ochikeron

2 eggs
1/2 cup cake flour ( or substitute with 1/2 cup [minus 1 tbsp] plain flour + 1 tbsp cornflour)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp. honey
2 tsp. water
cooking oil
red bean paste
nutella

– Beat eggs in a bowl. Add sugar and mix well. Add honey and mix well.
– Sift cake flour and baking soda together. Add to the batter and mix until incorporated. Don’t overmix.
– Then add water and mix until smooth. Do not overmix.
– Cover with a plastic wrap and let it rest in the fridge for 30 minutes.
– Heat cooking oil in a pan on low, pour 2 tbsp. of the batter onto the pan, and cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip with a spatula, and cook until browned on the other side.
– While it’s hot, put it in a closed container (or cover with a plastic wrap) to keep it moist, then continue making the next pancake.
– Making a sandwich, place about a teaspoon each of nutella and red bean paste.
– Press the edges to close.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Red Bean and Nutella Dorayaki

Leave some sweet thoughts

