F.O.U.R

Screen shot 2013-06-15 at 4.53.34 PM

Just to shake things up a bit, this week’s F.O.U.R post will be a bit different. Instead of sharing with you four photographs I’ll be sharing four of my favourite books. I’m bad at ranking things I love so the following books are just in a random order. Also, I’m allowing only one book per author to be on the list, otherwise this post will turn into a Chuck Palahniuk fangirl post (I just love that man so much it hurts).

ONE

Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

This book was the reason why I came to love Chuck Palahniuk and his evil genius. I first read Invisible Monsters when I was 16, after I was introduced to Palahniuk through Fight Club, the film and book. Its story revolves around a young model who, after an ‘accident,’ is left disfigured and mute. It’s one hot mess of a coming-0f-age story, and by that I mean that it totally wrecks the genre, and sprinkles over it some glitter, guts, and post-modern madness.

What I love about Invisible Monsters is how it relentlessly punches you in the face with Palahniuk’s signature upper-cut of a prose, idiosyncratic characters, and essential messages about identity and society.

TWO

Skeleton Crew by Stephen King

Oh, man, me and Skeleton Crew go way back in the day when ’emo’ was a thing, and people kept branding me with that subculture because they’d always find me sitting by myself with my raccoon eyes glued to a book that had a title that sounded like a rock band. A book like this definitely soothed the pain of being reduced to a stereotype. 😉

Skeleton Crew is Stephen King’s second short fiction anthology, and in my opinion the most frightening one! I’m not easy to scare, okay, so when I say it’s scary it’s motherchuckin’ scary, yo. My favourite ones include the apocalypse sci-fi story ‘The Mist,’ and two stories about madness called ‘Nona’ and ‘Survivor Type.’

THREE

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

While some people have Jane Austen, I have this bleakly beguiling book. I don’t usually go for classic books because they tend to be alienating thematically and aesthetically. The Picture of Dorian Gray was surprisingly not alienating at all despite it being a vivid portrait (ain’t I punny?) of Victorian society.

I see it as the literary great-grandfather of Bret Easton Ellis’ American Psycho and Anthony Minghella’s film The Talented Mr. Ripley (I am yet to read the book it was based on). Definitely a must-read!

Edit: When I was typing that paragraph about The Talented Mr. Ripley, Chet Baker’s song ‘My Funny Valentine’ started playing in my laptop. The deities of art are defo watching.

FOUR

The Last Temptation by Neil Gaiman and Michael Zulli

This graphic novel is another old friend of mine that I keep going back to. It’s a crazy tour in the nightmare/dreamscape of a kid named Steven, and it’s guided by this super shady Showman, who may or may not be Alice Cooper (Gaiman wrote this for him to base his concept album on).

I haven’t fully wrapped my head around what it all means, which is a good thing for a piece of art to do. Next to Alan Moore’s Watchmen, this for me is one of the greatest, underrated graphic novels ever written.

**

Guess that’s it for now! I hope y’all got a little inspired to read these beautiful works of literature.

See you in my GAOP!

One thought on “F.O.U.R

Leave some sweet thoughts

