Carrot Muffins

IMG_8231

Ants, again.

Last time, cookies. This time they’re in muffins. Hahah. I don’t want to neglect the black sesame seeds in the pantry so here they are again, making a comeback.

Here are sesame seeds’ bandmates in this comeback.

IMG_8205
They’re totally shredding and mixing it up.
IMG_8213
IMG_8214The heat is on for their comeback performance. Now they’re rising in the charts, yay!
IMG_8220Okay I don’t know where I’m going with this. But my muffins went behind the scenes in my sister’s short film. I baked a couple of things for my sister and her film crew and this was one of them. Carrots and apples are good for you. Sesame seeds have lots and lots to offer too.Β I hope that putting them together will make the film crew’s tummies happy. Happy tummies then do happy work to make a good short film! Yay!
IMG_8230
IMG_8240
IMG_8237
I’ve made this a couple of times. I even made them with my mini cake moulds. It looks like a doughnut. Nom nom it disappeared quickly. I had to make more. No frosting because that’s my little way of cutting down on sugar haha. Not exactly dieting but whatever…
IMG_8224
IMG_8238
Oh well happy times.
IMG_8234
IMG_8239

I recently stumbled upon Β Sweet New Zealand, the monthly blogging event for Kiwi bloggers. So, I’m entering this post to Sweet New Zealand πŸ˜€ Our July 2013 host isΒ Nicola from Homegrown Kitchen, clickΒ hereΒ to enter.
Sweet New Zealand Badge

Carrot Muffins adapted from Joy of Baking

1/4 cup sesame seeds, toasted
1 1/3 cups grated raw carrot (about 2-3 peeled carrots)
1 small apple, peeled and grated
1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated white sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 large eggs
1/2 cup safflower, corn, vegetable, or canola oil
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

– Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
– Toast the sesame seeds and leave them to cool. Peel and grate carrots and apples and set aside.
– In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinammon. Stir in the sesame seeds.
– In a medium bowl, whisk eggs, oil and vanilla.
– Fold the wet ingredients, along with the grated carrot and apple, into the flour mixture, stirring just until moistened.
– Divide the batter between muffin cups and bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
– After taking it out of the oven, cool for 10 minutes in the pan. Then transfer onto cooling racks.

Enjoy!

14 thoughts on “Carrot Muffins

Leave some sweet thoughts

