F.O.U.R

Screen shot 2013-06-15 at 4.53.34 PM

Hello again! I have to admit I’ve been slacking on my posts since uni started for me. I promise, I’ll post more things!

My F.O.U.R post this week is different from my usual F.O.U.R posts of photographs. I’ve been told that I should do more posts like my F.O.U.R book post, so this one’s kind of like that. Instead of books, I’ll fangirl over music albums.

I’m an avid music lover. I’m not tied down to just one or two genres, and in fact I tend to gravitate towards music that has elements from multiple genres. This post, as well as my posts about music in the future, will give you a sneak peek of what my eclectic taste is like 🙂

ONE

Exciter by Depeche Mode

I’m ashamed to say that I found out about this album through piracy. This was years ago, but I’m yet to repay Depeche Mode by buying the actual album. When I do get this, it’ll surely be worth it.

I’m deeply, head-over-heels in love with its electronic textures that form the mysterious ambience of tracks like ‘Comatose’ and ‘When the Body Speaks’, and the visceral intensity of tracks like ‘Dead of Night’ and ‘I Feel Loved’. The whole album is in abundance of songs that are great club (possibly strip-club) thumpers. Listening to this album is pretty much like having a rave in your brain!

TWO

The Fame Monster by Lady Gaga

Those who know me personally are probably nodding to themselves and saying, ‘Of course. Of course.’ The can’t expect me to write a post about music without mentioning the Queen herself.

The Fame Monster for me is Lady Gaga’s defining album. Consisting of 8 tracks, it’s short but definitely not sweet. Yeah it’s covered in glitter and shimmering fabric, as pop albums go, but there’s no denying that immediately beneath the surface are layers of the blackest soot. This soot is made up of flakes of satire and irony, especially apparent in songs like ‘So Happy I Could Die’ and ‘Bad Romance.’ Now I choose to call it soot because the album taps into the dark recesses of human emotions, with emphasis on love and romance. Lyrically, The Fame Monster also explores self-destructive tendencies of said themes, most particularly in the tracks ‘Dance in the Dark’ and ‘Speechless.’ A melancholic reading of the content makes The Fame Monster an interesting study, but it’s surely not the only way the album stands out from The Fame and Born This Way. In fact, if you just ignore the things I just said about it having an underlying soot, the album is a killer party soundtrack.

THREE

Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge by My Chemical Romance

Spare me the E word, people. For me, this is one of the best concept albums ever made. It’s about a man on his quest to harvest 1000 souls of ‘bad’ people so that he can revive his lover – a very blood-stained-roses kind of story, really, but I think the sonic execution is amazing.

I often describe My Chemical Romance as rock you can dance to – especially when you dance like you’re in a slightly amorous mosh pit. ‘To the End’, ‘You Know What They Do to Guys Like Us in Prison’, and ‘The Jetset Life is Gonna Kill You’ are my favourite songs to dance to in this album. Another all-time favourite of mine is ‘I’m Not Okay (I Promise)’, definitely a foot-stomping anthem of the angsty teen.

FOUR

The Idler Wheel is Wiser than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Chords Will Serve You More than Ropes Will Ever Do by Fiona Apple

Because this is a piece of genius, typing up the full name of this album is definitely worth it. It’s the kind of album that I play when I’m by myself at home, or if I’m strolling downtown. It takes me to a solitary place, and creates a comfortable sonic quiet perfect for conditioning my mind for creativity.

The songs have interesting dynamics of melancholy and vibrance lyrically and instrumentally, especially in  ‘Every Single Night’, ‘Werewolf’ and ‘Jonathan’. There’s also an undeniable sense of Fiona Apple’s cheekiness as an artist with songs like ‘Hot Knife’ and ‘Periphery’.

**

Guess that’s it for now! But expect more F.O.U.R recommendations from me 🙂

One thought on “F.O.U.R

Leave some sweet thoughts

