Puto

IMG_0807

Maligayang Pasko!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays everyone!
I have a simple Christmas post for today. My fellow food bloggers have jaw droppingly awesome christmas food and recipes. I’m not much for themed food so…I have puto! Hahah. It’s Filipino steamed cake. Can’t say it’s Christmas-y but it can be for any occasion anyways. And any food you’re gonna eat in the holidays can be deemed christmas-y anyways.

Okiedokies.
Let’s make some puto.
IMG_0779
IMG_0780
IMG_0781
I remember when I was a kid some of our relatives would give us money for christmas. But before you get the money sometimes you have to perform [song or dance?]. Hahah. I was usually up for it until I grew older and it became embarrassing like an ugly sweater. Ahh this reminds me…I’ve never had ugly christmas sweaters so here comes something that’s as christmas-y and as awful as those christmas sweaters. Prepare to face palm yourself, I’ll be your embarrassing cousin this holiday. To my actual cousins, if you’re reading this, it’s not too late to join in. Haha.
IMG_0782
IMG_0795
jingle bells
cheese will melt
steam puto a few more times
make it pink, make it yellow
this jingle has no flow
hey~
IMG_0796
dashing through the room
in a vintage look apron
all the steam has gone
take puto right away
hahah
IMG_0803
careful with your finger
the silicone is hot
stop singing your crappy song
and help me plate sprinkles
hey ~
IMG_0799
jingle bells
puto sells
but this is just for me
we don’t put it on a stick
but I don’t care
it looks more Christmas-y
IMG_0805There you go. Merry Christmas everyone. Excuse my weird. Enjoy the puto. Yeah we really don’t put puto on sticks. But I got distracted and thought of dangos. Don’t skewered puto look cute though?

Puto from Pinay Cooking Lessons

2 cups plain flour
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 tbsp baking powder (yep tablespoon)
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 3/4 cups water
food colouring
small pieces of sliced cheese

– Prepare the steamer. (I used my rice cooker, it worked fine. Wrap the lid with a tea towel or cloth so the water doesn’t fall back on the puto). Use medium heat when steaming.
– In a large bowl, whisk the dry ingredients together.
– Then add water and whisk until the mixture is smooth.
– Add eggs and melted butter and mix thoroughly. If there are lumps in the mixture, let it pass through a sieve.
– Divide the mixture according to the number of food colouring you have. Then add a few drops of food colour on each bowl until the desired colour is attained.
– Spoon the batter onto silicone cups (or a buttered muffin tin) until it is 3/4 full.
– Place onto a steaming rack when the steamer is ready. Steam for 10 minutes.
– Place the cheese slices on top of the puto then place the lid back on for 5 seconds to melt the cheese.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Puto

  1. Oh my goodness this is my favorite thing to eat with tea. I tried to make it with rice flour as my moms Filipino friend does but it just turns into this awful gluey stuff. Flour might be easier to handle! Thanks!

Leave some sweet thoughts

