Salmon and Cucumber Pots

IMG_1195Hello everyone.

Today’s post is something a little bit different from my usual ones. It’s not dessert, it’s not cooked or baked. Plus my mom helped me make them!

Everyone except mom loves salmon in our house. Every time she cooks salmon for dinner, my mom cooks a different kind of fish for herself. She says it’s ‘malansa’  which google translates to fishy – I guess it smells/tastes off? slimy? rotten? to mom? I don’t know. Mom answer this. I can’t believe I’m stuck with trying to explain how salmon is malansa. I never thought it tasted like that anyways. And my Filipino vocabulary skills need a jolt of electricity to be awake inside my brains. Man. Should I start translating all my posts to Filipino to practice? Sounds like a lot of brain pain.

Moving on. Here’s a salmon dish mom actually liked. The refreshing taste of cucumber went well with salmon’s – err- fishyness. (To Filipinos.. I just realised I can’t even translate the last sentence to Filipino. What is refreshing in Filipino? Google says malamig – cold? what?. There’s also nakakapresko – refreshing-  but I’ve never heard it used to describe taste. Hmmmm…)

PicMonkey Cosllage
IMG_1209.jpg
IMG_1199.jpg
Another slightly different thing from today’s post are the photos. If you’ve seen my other posts, you might notice that these ones are not my usual style. I actually don’t know what my style is – photo wise. I’m just playing around. I don’t know if I’ll keep posting photos with this style but its nice to try haha. Learning as we go. I almost feel like I have a film point and shoot camera with me. How fun would that be?
IMG_1172.jpg
IMG_1200.jpg
IMG_1213.jpg

 

ahhh…so easy to make. Try it out 🙂

Salmon in Cucumber Pots from Food.com

2 medium cucumbers, about 1 inch diameter
170g smoked salmon
1/2 cup sour cream
1/3 cup chopped fresh coriander leaves
1 tbsp lime zest
2 tsp fresh lime juice
salt
cayenne pepper

– Peel cucumber and cut into 3/4-inch slices.
– For the cucumber pot/cup, use a tiny spoon to scoop seeds out while leaving some flesh to form the base. Set aside.
– In medium-size bowl, break salmon into small pieces and discard any skin and bone. Combine with sour cream, coriander, lime zest, salt and cayenne, adjust amount to taste.
– Spoon salmon mixture into cucumber pots.
– Sprinkle lightly with cayenne pepper. Garnish with chopped coriander.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Salmon and Cucumber Pots

Leave some sweet thoughts

