Hello Kitty Island Jeju

Are you ready for this? I don’t think you’re ready for this.
sweetsandbrains-7199.jpgA magical and important life event happened in my life. This is something only my Hello Kitty phone wielding 8 year old self could only dream of. Jeju has realised it. Hello Kitty Island. Lifetime achievement unlocked. Sometimes life really is too good to be true. I felt that when my friends and I stepped off the bus and crossed the road to see…

sweetsandbrains-7203.jpg
…this massive pink building with the unmistakable Hello Kitty bows.
Welcome, my friends, to Hello Kitty Island. Also known as my dream come true.

(If you don’t like Hello Kitty…well consider this my Halloween present mwahahaha)
hk3
sweetsandbrains-7214.jpg
You bet I was smiling from ear to ear before I even got my ticket. So happy I came with like-minded friends so we were al equally obsessing about how exciting this is before we even walked through the Hello Kitty arch entry.
sweetsandbrains-7222.jpg
ver2hk
Yeah I’d live here.
sweetsandbrains-7231.jpg
I only wished I dressed cuter to fit in with all the kawaii. Hahaha.
sweetsandbrains-7242.jpg
If I ever have daughters in the future you know what they’ll be wearing. I mean look at those cute children’s hanboks with tutus! I would wear that.
hk hanbok
You also know you’re in Hello Kitty’s domain when even the toilets look super duper cute.
hkitty2
sweetsandbrains-7257.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7256.jpg
There’s tons of Hello Kitty displays, from an area showing Hello Kitty’s history (did you know she only started as an unnamed character on a coin purse?) to miniature displays and even hologram displays. 2014 is Hello Kitty’s 40th anniversary. I wonder if they’re going to add all the hullabaloo about her supposedly being a real girl on her timeline. I came to this place before all that so who knows, maybe they put a clarifier somewhere saying ‘you are entering a museum for a famous anthropomorphic feline’. That will surely add another photo op corner in a place built for photo ops.
sweetsandbrains-7260.jpg
Step into my future home… hahah.
sweetsandbrains-7270.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7268.jpg
Oh man to wake up to this would be a dreaaaaam~
sweetsandbrains-7276.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7272.jpg
My kitchen. Where only kawaii foods (all with a dash of pink probably) can be made.

I want everything in here, it hurts. I know I can probably find places to buy everything I see here but if we turn the dial to reality I probably will not buy Hello Kitty kitchen stuff. I can buy quality kitchen stuff without her face but it will be cheaper. But man oh man. I’ve realised this when I was shopping for cleaning and bathroom stuff for my apartment and there was that Hello Kitty section that was so so tempting but I resisted. Ah life. Maybe when I turn 30 I can have a big Hello Kitty party and people can only gift me Hello Kitty stuff hahaha.
kittykitchen
Dream Bedroom!
sweetsandbrains-7367.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7374.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7365.jpg
“Hello? May I speak to 8 year old Nelli? I just want to tell her she’ll have a glimpse of heaven at age 23. I just want her to be ready.”
sweetsandbrains-7286.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7284.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7282.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7293.jpg
Cross the road to Hello Kitty school~
hello kitty school
sweetsandbrains-7303.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7333.jpg
Hello Kitty in different countries’ clothes.
sweetsandbrains-7336.jpg
Of course, Hello Kitty in hanbok!
sweetsandbrains-7337.jpg
sweetsandbrains-7353.jpg
Hello Kitty X pop culture. Ironman Hello Kitty is just many kinds of awesome. That Crayon Pop poster is so cute too!
hkpop
More Hello Kitty art~
hello kitty art
sweetsandbrains-7387.jpg
When you get to the rooftop, this is what greets you.
sweetsandbrains-7395.jpg
Let me just end this post with Hello Kitty and the skies of Jeju.
sweetsandbrains-7388.jpg
Did you like that post of Hello Kitty explosion? Do you like Hello Kitty as much as me? Or am I totally crazy? Hhaha…
If you can’t get enough don’t worry. There’s a part two, my photos from Hello Kitty cafe!

See you.
(I promise. I know I’ve been gone for so long it’s embarrassing to acknowledge how long…also because I can’t remember…hahah)

10 thoughts on “Hello Kitty Island Jeju

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m beyond jealous of your adventures in Jeju! I dreamed of going to Osulloc and the Trick Museum, but unfortunately our tour only included Love Land… haha… have you been there?

  2. IT IS SO PINK. I CANNOT DEAL OMG.

    Now I know the aesthetic for my future home. I wonder if spray painting fridges is okay…

    Your life is so amazing, Nells!!! I’m so glad you’re enjoying yourself!!!!!!

    xoxoxoxoxox

Leave some sweet thoughts

