yakiniku

First few hours and Kimchi in Japan

It’s been a few weeks now since I’ve been back from Japan but it still makes me giddy every time I think about my short stay. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. I never want to.

Nelli, what was the first ever thing you did in Japan? You might ask, or you might not. I’m going to tell you anyway. I went to a convenience store and fangirled at the shelves. Yes this is true. My aunt laughed at me. Fresh off the plane and looking at kawaii already~
Please excuse my disheveled look. I don’t look kawaii when I travel. I’d wear my pajamas if I could. #ootd
sweetsandbrains-5058.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5063.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5064.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5067.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5068.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5061.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5065.jpg
Bought some random candies for their packaging and grabbed yakitori to go. We had a super long drive from Narita airport to Saitama and I was just super happy to have something. I’m not sure if I was just very hungry but that yakitori was pretty delish.
sweetsandbrains-5071.jpg

We got to the apartment and I dropped my bags happily. I was asked if I wouldn’t mind yakiniku for dinner. I don’t mind anything. My mind was still spinning with trying to grasp the fact that I was on Japan soil.
When we arrived at the restaurant I realised what yakiniku was and thought, so I’m having galbi in Japan huh…hahah – never mind that I had it two days ago in Korea hahaha. It’s delicious in both countries anyway.
sweetsandbrains-5078.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5084.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5086.jpg
All the meat. I want it all.
sweetsandbrains-5093.jpg
I have to admit I was shocked when I realised we had to pay for kimchi and you can’t get free refills haha. Waaaaa?????? I had to keep reminding myself I was in Japan haha. I knew I sounded ridiculous because I had a habit of answering “ne [yes in Korean]” whenever my Japanese ‘uncle’ asked me stuff. That kept happening for two days.
I experienced the reverse when I came back to Korea and kept answering “hai!” at the airport and bus ticket people. Hahhaha. I’m a weirdo. I know.
sweetsandbrains-5091.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5077.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5099.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5101.jpg
sweetsandbrains-5096.jpg
Okiedokies that’s all for now folks. More photos soon~

3 thoughts on “First few hours and Kimchi in Japan

  1. You’re so cute! I think going to supermarkets are the best things to do in any foreign country because you really get into the culture without the typical touristy gifts. Their convenience stores outshine ours by miles :O

    1. Haha thanks!! You are so right about the supermarkets and convenience stores.They’re so much fun. There was so much I wanted to buy just because of the packaging – all I kept thinking was “They don’t sell these in Korea or NZ! Omggggg”. They just sell so much it really is soooo convenient haha.

Leave some sweet thoughts

