Becoming Lolita

What is Kawaii? It’s Japanese for cute. Not just that, it encompasses a certain style and unique energy these days. I would know, I’ve been following and have been inspired by kawaii before I even knew the term. When I visited Japan, I promised myself to be more kawaii~ haha. I even got the chance to meetup with my favourite kawaii lifestyle blogger, Kaila from Rainbowholic. She’s amazeballs and I was so happy to make a new friend. So so wonderful and kawaii, inside and out~
sweetsandbrains-6755.jpg
Anyway I consider myself kawaii, maybe not all the time, but my heart is always inspired by kawaii. A specific style/subculture that ultimately screams kawaii is Lolita fashion . Before you think of the novel, it has nothing to do with that. Lolita fashion evolved from Victorian inspired clothing and has substyles like, sweet, classic, punk, goth and more. There are certain elements specific to each but any kind of Lolita coordinate is unique, eye-catching and doll-like. It takes dedication to be Lolita, you can’t just walk up Forever 21 and get an outfit, which is part of its charm. That’s also why I can’t be Lolita…I don’t have the access to Lolita anything so I’m just inspired by them.
sweetsandbrains-6753.jpg
I learned about Maison de Juliettaย a while back from Tokyo Fashion and thought that it should be in my Japan bucket list. Soooo…I skipped off too Laforet in Harajuku to have a Lolita makeover.
sweetsandbrains-6744.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6754.jpg

So how does this whole thing go? First off, you need to call the place and make a reservation. My Japanese uncle helped me with this so I’m not a good judge on how smoothly things will go in English, sorry. Ahhh so you show up during your time, sign some things and prepare to be a princess. First off, you pick the whole outfit you want to wear. Curvy girls, don’t worry. They have several dresses that stretch to accommodate all that bass. It’s great that Lolita fashion is all about big skirts. I was worried about getting into them but it turned out okay. Off to the dressing room!
sweetsandbrains-6747.jpg
Fun fact: I wore three layers of petticoat. I’d like to add that you should bring/wear an undershirt because you pay extra to wear one of their undershirts. This place is kawaii but not cheap.
sweetsandbrains-6749.jpg
After you get your clothes sorted, you’re helped on to cute shoes. All the shoes were big for me because I have small feet but it doesn’t matter because it’s only for dress up.
sweetsandbrains-6751.jpg
After dressing up, the next step was putting on makeup. I don’t know about you but I totally enjoy when people put makeup on me. I couldn’t wear my glasses so it was just a blur of light makeup brush strokes to make me look cute. Oh and the falsies. I don’t remember when I last wore false lashes prior to this so this was quite a treat. I then chose a wig that matched my hair colour so my Lolita image would still resemble myself.
sweetsandbrains-6758.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6760.jpg
After putting on makeup, it’s finally time for a Lolita photoshoot. Everyone moves systematically. I think only one staff was fluent in English so she would be the one guiding me on what was next. The photographer was pretty cool though and spoke bits of English. I didn’t have to think of how to pose because he instructed me a lot. He handed me the props and I just tried to follow along while hoping my smile wasn’t trembling. I’m not exactly camera-shy but posing for an actual photographer isn’t a normal thing either haha. Here are some photos from that shoot.
sweetsandbrains--2.jpg
sweetsandbrains--3.jpg
sweetsandbrains-.jpg
I have to add that you don’t get the photographer’s photos until 10 days after your visit. They give you all the info for it (links and instructions in English and Japanese) after the whole thing.

After the quick shoot, one of the staff members took my camera and began photoshoot part two. That was pretty cool because at least I had photos on my camera- which I always prefer hahah. She was snapping away like flash and I just stood there and basked in the moment. I’ve never been called kawaii that many consecutive times in my life!
sweetsandbrains-6805.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6794.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6821.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6814.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6810.jpg
After exhausting all possible cute poses I retreated back to the makeup area for one last appreciation for my Lolita-ness. They give you a few minutes specifically for taking selfies (just in case, you didn’t have enough photos of yourself hahahah).
sweetsandbrains-6836.jpg
sweetsandbrains-6833.jpg
I decided to keep the makeup on afterwards, I couldn’t keep the falsies though. I changed back into my usual look and was given a cute little cookie.
sweetsandbrains-6853.jpg
Overall, it was a wonderful experience even if it was quite short (maybe just a few minutes over an hour?). Everyone was very pleasant and tried their best to communicate and make the whole experience super enjoyable for me. The clothes selection was pretty good and the makeup didn’t cause any skin reaction heheh. I had an incredible time and I think it’s an experience worth trying out if you’re really into kawaii. It’s a bit expensive so there’s that to think about. I think I spent around $120, I know it’s a lot to shell out for a mini makeover but my thought is that this isn’t something I could experience in back Korea, New Zealand or the Philippines. Mwahaha. I thought it was worth it, but you may think differently.
They also sell accessories in their shop, super cute and unique stuff. If I didn’t spend all that money on the makeover thing I would’ve hoarded some stuff too. Good thing Swimmer was just across and they were having a sale hahaha. Oh the kawaii fix. I miss Japan so much.
sweetsandbrains-6852.jpg
That was my experience of becoming Lolita at Maison de Julietta~
What do you think? Should I dress this way 24/7?
Anyways, see ya! I’ll try to blog more~

3 thoughts on “Becoming Lolita

Leave some sweet thoughts

