Puppy Cookies

redpuppycookies.jpgPuppies!

How can one not have a soft spot for the baby version of man’s best friend? Every time I see one I have a long awwwwwwww in my head or for real. Sometimes I tear up a little because they’re so cute. I really really really really want one.
IMG_5848.jpg
I miss all our dogs who are all in dog heaven now. Oh all those days they were still puppies, from when my grandpa scooped a puppy from the road to save it from getting hit.  To when my uncle ran into our house to let us cuddle a puppy (that he just rescued from becoming random people’s chow) and asked if we would like to keep it (naturally we named the puppy after a cartoon character from the show we were watching at that moment…Teen Titan’s Raven, yeah!).
IMG_5854.jpg
To that time dad came home with a puppy at the back of the car, claiming it was mom’s birthday gift. There was even that puppy we named after a Big Brother housemate hahaha. And how can I forget our first set of puppies, whose names we got from Quest for Camelot. Garett and Salaymo (I just googled it and found out that Salaymo isn’t even the character’s name, we just misheard Sir Lionel that time…).
IMG_5855.jpg
Guide dog puppies, anyone? I’ve heard from the news before that you can adopt a puppy to take care of before they’re old enough to be trained – or something in that vein. That would be awesome but heartbreaking (saying goodbye to the puppy would be so sad). I can’t have a pet in our rental place so puppy cookies are the closest thing isn’t it? Well not really, I suppose. Mom said that her office colleagues were having a fundraising for guide dog puppies and she volunteered (her daughter) to bake cookies for the bake sale.
I haven’t been baking for a while so it was a nice thing to be asked and for a good cause too!

Soooo. tadah!
IMG_5857.jpg
IMG_5875.jpg
It was really fun making these! I’m not really a cookie decorating kind of baker but I thought I should at least try because it was for a fundraising. I couldn’t make the frosting consistency at first but it turned out better than I thought it would be. Yay!
IMG_5860.jpg
IMG_5887.jpg
Yay for puppies!
IMG_5861.jpg
IMG_5891.jpg
The people in mom’s workplace loved the cookies. I even got a puppy plushie!

Red Puppy Cookies from Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind
250g butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/3 cups flour, sifted
2 tsp baking powder

Frosting:
1 1/2 cup icing sugar
1 tbsp boiling water
1 tsp red food colour/2 tbsp cocoa powder

– Preheat oven to 170 degrees Celsius. Line trays with baking paper.
– Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the condensed milk and beat the mixture again. Add vanilla and beat again.
– Fold in flour and baking powder into the mixture.
– Roll the mixture onto a floured surface. Use the cookie cutter to cut out shapes on the dough.
– Place the cut out puppy shapes onto the lined trays, space them out so they have room to spread.
– Bake for 15-20 minutes and let it cool for 10 minutes.
– After the cookies have cooled you can use red, chocolate and white frosting to decorate the cookies. You may have to adjust the amount of icing sugar/water to get your desired consistency.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Puppy Cookies

  1. Is there anything more nobel that a guide dog puppy?

    One of my clients fosters guide dog puppies and she brought it in to our office on it’s very first day with her. He was so small, soft and with limitless energy. Soooo cute.

    I’d love to do it one day but you need to be home all the time so kind of difficult if you have a full time job (that doesn’t allow puppies). It can be heartbreaking to send them onto the next stage in their training, but you get a brand new puppy which can soothe the heartache.

    1. oh new puppies every time…sounds like a dream. I hope I get to work in a centre with pets (though it sounds like extra work too haha).

      When you start fostering puppy guide dogs..I wonder if there will also be a side blog – Puppy Eats Design hehe..

Leave some sweet thoughts