A bit of French at L’Assiette

Bonjour mon amis!

Okay I wish I knew more but that’s the only phrase I know (off the top of my head) in French (haha) and I got that when I was 10 while reading Archie comics. Veronica was practicing French because a handsome frenchman was going to be her father’s guest. Archie wants to impress Veronica so he tries to be good at it as well, by the time Archie’s fluent in French Veronica’s moved on to learning Italian.

I love Archie comics. I started making comics on old notebooks fanatically because of them. I love Jughead more than Archie though. Anyways…before I get too sidetracked I’ll move on to what this post is about. A contemporary French cafe at Britomart Place in Auckland CBD, called L’Assiette.

My friend Pin and I went to L’Assiette for afternoon tea. Just because I randomly found about it through Ultimate Omnoms and because we just love cafes (we went to a cute one too last time).

L’Assiette was quite charming with their details here and there. Check out their cute mural.

When you walk through the doors you’ll be greeted with a hearty “Bonjour!”. We felt a bit uneasy not bringing a few French words with us, but the place looked so cute we forgot about it haha.

Pin took this photo of our cute little corner.

I love the pastries piled up in baskets. Everything looked so good to eat.

So what did we end up getting? I chose the mille feuille (which I had a hard time ordering because I couldn’t pronounce it haha)

Can you see the beautiful layers of puff pastry and pastry cream? Yumyum.

Sometimes nothing beats a good ol’ flat white.

Pin got pie (which made a disappearing act before I got a photo haha) and chocolate eclair (which I could’t help stealing a bit).

I couldn’t resist bringing home some macarons. If macarons are your thing, these babies spurred on a little appreciation post from me.

Even Mr. Skeleton likes them.

Looks like I’m gonna come back here when my wallet’s a lil bit heavier haha 🙂

See ya!

2 thoughts on “A bit of French at L’Assiette

Leave some sweet thoughts